We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“adorable cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Arcata, Humboldt County, California

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cameron M
Martinez, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Adequate for two”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed 3 nights in early November. Overall a perfectly adequate choice for two folks for the price.
Nice location not too far from town and HSU and the freeway. Well maintained and clean. Very soft bed, if that's your thing. Good bathroom set-up. Nice front porch with seating and a charcoal grill (if it doesn't rain). The dehumidifier is appreciated in this damp environment. A tiny but adequate kitchen to prepare small meals... except...
No microwave and no coffee maker. To make coffee boil water in the special pot and pour across a single-serve filter basket. The cook-top is induction so it will not keep the glass coffee pot warm so you need to make each cup individually.
The cottage is right up against the steep Park Avenue. There's not much traffic at night and we got good sleep with a white noise app, but during the morning there's enough traffic laboring uphill to dissuade one from sleeping in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
Redwood Roost is small but accommodating. We chose the pour over coffee method so we could have room for a microwave. Hope we can host again as we do have over 100+ vacation of all sized in the area. We can find something that would fit your needs batter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebsoregon
oregon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Certainly not what I expected. I have happily stayed in small places, old places, and very modest places, but I felt as if we were converted garage/garden shed. I styled my hair using the microwave as a mirror, no plug in to be found in bath room. Couldn’t get playoff game or Football on TV...Dish or cable would have been appreciated.
Incredibly small room! We left after our first night to find something comfortable. Even the tide table book was last years’.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
So sorry you had a disappointing stay. Quick calls to management would have helped out. There is an extension cord in the drawer in the kitchen and we do advertise as ROKU only TV and that the apt. is quite small. Hope we can find a better fit somewhere for you as we have over 100+ affordable vacation homes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devillier...
Campbell, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“adorable cottage”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My hubby and I spent 3 nights in this adorable cottage in Arcata. It had all we needed for our stay and was very clean and comfy. We enjoyed the deck in the evenings and found it to be very central located to the freeway and downtown. Would stay here again when we come to visit/explore the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness of the place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thanks for the great review and hope we will see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing