We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here 3 times”
Review of Hotel Arcata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arcata
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Every time I find myself in Arcata, I always stay here. The staff is friendly, the hotel is located right in the town square, it's really convenient if you're looking to go out and explore the cute town. The sushi restaurant located in the hotel is really delicious! Love this place!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Set in the charming, historic town of Arcata in Northern California, the hotel is a bit rustic but still a very nice place to stay and right across from the downtown in the center of the city. Be sure to spend some time walking around this cute little town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Get ready for a noisy and overpriced experience. The building is a historic building and located right on the most beautiful Arcata town square and the Japanese restaurant in the hotel Tomo is delicious and has excellent service and many vegetarian options too and that unfortunately is where the good experience ends. The hotel is historic and on the National Register and it has that going for it to be sure and there are NO other hotels in downtown Arcata and none of the hotels in the larger area are particularly good so your options are incredibly limited and none of them are great either. The rooms are musty and smallish and are not very soundproofed, the patrons at the hotel can be very loud and if you get a room on the lovely plaza you will be kept awake by the very noisy bar patrons next door (not from the restaurant) and woken up early by the sometimes noisy early morning plaza people The hotel like many hotels has a most unfortunate habit of grouping all the people staying there right next to each other, even if the hotel is basically empty (i guess it makes it easier for the cleaning staff but seems very un-service oriented to me). If you are a heavy sleeper or one of the loud and late people than you'll likely be fine, otherwise-caveat emptor!

Room Tip: good luck! am told the inside suite (away from plaza is the best of the options here)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Very cute and clean hotel for enjoying the night life in Arcata. I got an interior executive suite well away from the street noise

Location is great and the staff was very accommodating Free wifi is always a bonus as well.

When in town be sure to visit the restored theater/lounge just down the street


Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Ajhello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed here on a Thursday night, and I got a taste of the night life in Arcata. The hotel is right on the square, and there are several restaurants and bars immediately outside. Apparently, the hotel is pet-friendly because my first room (#311) smelled like cat piss, so I requested an alternative room. The second room (#316) put me above the alley on the north side of the building. As someone mentioned before, the garbage truck comes through at 4 a.m. to pick up three dumpsters; I kept waiting for them to be done. I still am semi-pleased with the hotel only because the alternative was to stay at a cluster of chain hotels outside of the center, but then I couldn't have enjoyed a nice meal down the street or the short stroll to the small movie theater.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the north side alley on a Thursday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It is located right on the square and surrounded by Bars so street noise is an issue. Also, if you do not like roving bands of hippies, then my advice is avoid Arcata in general. Hotel was build in 1915 and they did manage to maintain a lot of that feel while providing some modern conveniences like flat screen TV. Old Radiators for heat are charming, however you cannot control the temperature in an individual room. Old single pain windows that actually open add tot he charm of the hotel but do a poor job at keeping out the noise form the street. Original wood doors with real keys also a nice touch.

I liked the place, however it is not for everyone.

Room Tip: I noise is a problem for you, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnp1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The location of the Hotel Arcata is very convenient, but go some place else if you want to sleep! The view over the square and the quick access to just about anything in Arcata is very convenient. The noise level in and around the hotel is horrific.....noisy doors, noisy hallways, no sound barrier between rooms, and noisy people on the street, especially at the bar next door. I've rarely seen as many homeless people in one place at one time as I did during our stay at the hotel. We did have a large, two-room suite with two baths, but that can't make up for the noise generated by the bar patrons, homeless folks and young people going in and out of the hotel. The breakfast is minimal...don't count on that being very good or nourishing. They didn't even have any decaf coffee! There is no parking at the hotel, though they provide a parking tag (worth $25 we were quickly told), and you have to do battle with everyone else to find a parking place.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel. Look elsewhere for lodging!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eighthnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
2.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
6 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
2.3 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arcata

Address: 708 9th St, Arcata, CA 95521-6246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: £84 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing