We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to go for lunch with your friends!”
Review of Cafe Brio

Cafe Brio
Ranked #4 of 105 Restaurants in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“THE place to go for lunch with your friends!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I actually had a friend from Vancouver write to me specifically to ask if I had ever had Brio's chicken pot pie. They will probably come back if only for that. Cafe Brio has wonderful lunches, everything from pre-made sandwiches which transport you to France without the jetlag. One of my favorites is poached eggs, croissant, and salad. Another: macaroni and cheese. And, if they are offering the Ruben, try it. Fabulous pastrami. If you are on a diet, do not look at the desserts which are true works of art in addition to being delicious. Cafe Brio is a true anchor for the Arcata Plaza.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamwiltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“so so overpriced, so-so coffee”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Curious as to why people come here, I stopped in for a 8oz americano...it cost a buck more than the one I drank earlier at another local cafe, (and the other place tasted much better). The indoor seating at Brio is tiny, noisy and uncomfortable, I sat outside and the intersection a few feet away provided booming car stereos, and harleys, (which did not quite drown out the mindless person yakking on her cell phone at the next table). I do not see the appeal of this place...I enjoyed it more as the Arcata Muffler Shop,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenton, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Crowded but worth it!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This yummy restaurant is on the corner of the dowtown Arcata square. It is small and cramped. There was a bit of a line and the seating was scarce. BUT the food was delicious and not your typical cafe fare. I had an incredible salad with farro beans (never heard of them before), sliced persimmons, goat cheese, spinach and dried cranberries. It was fabulous. If there's no seating inside or out get it to go. It's worth it!

Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneCumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“STICKY BUNS!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The best sticky buns in the world!! I'm addicted, no foolin'. Mostly, I get pastries to go because they make their coffee one cup at a time and usually, I'm in a hurry to eat my sticky bun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveloscopy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pastry and Coffee”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A wonderful bakery with sidewalk seating opposite a small square, where on this Saturday a Farmer's Market was in full swing. A gigantic selection of wonderful pastries. This dream a coffee shop/bakery is only possible outside a metropolitan area. It is so ideal a setting that I would expect to see it in a film some day. I am jealous of the locals who get to do this regularly. This is not your urban coffee shop. I didn't see anyone on a cell phone or iPad. Just good coffee and great pastry and lots of conversations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JimM0ran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Brio also viewed

Arcata, Humboldt County
Arcata, Humboldt County
 
Arcata, Humboldt County
 
Arcata, Humboldt County
Arcata, Humboldt County
 

Been to Cafe Brio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing