We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross”
Review of Fairwinds Motel

Fairwinds Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairwinds Motel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gross”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Yes it has one of the best locations in town (with the exception of the Arcata Hotel which has THE best location) however it is gross. I stayed because I wanted to be able to walk to town and up to the school, but if you have a car go up to Giuntoli and stay in something that is modestly modern and not GROSS.
This place stinks, the beds spreads look like the have never been cleaned....just gross. If I were here with my wife and son you couldn't pay me to bring them into this rat hole.
nuff said.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Element1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwindsManagement, Manager at Fairwinds Motel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
We are sorry that anyone feels the bedspread at our motel was gross, while we always try to keep the cleanliness of our bedding materials by regularly washing it. On the other hand, some people has tried to steal our bedding materials, including one around the time this review was made, and fortunately our staff/housekeeper noticed it and told the would be thief who looked like a hitchhiker type traveller to put the bedspread back. We always stand by our quality and try to keep it high, so if anyone found a problem with it, they could just the staff on duty to check it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    7
    6
    12
See reviews for
10
6
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

After reading reviews I never thought I would stay there. However it is walking distance to HSU so I decided to give it a whirl. I must say it was not bad. The room was clean, the front desk was helpful and I didn't encounter the noise I read about. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel is old but well maintained and quiet. The amenities are ok and there isn't really anything special offered, but the hotel is a good place to stay if you are visiting for a couple days and will be out of the hotel most of the time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyride0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This motel is nothing special. I booked here because I was dropping my daughter off at HSU and needed a place to spend the night. I just wanted a hotel within walking distance of HSU and inexpensive. The Fairwinds met those requirements. This hotel represents very basic hotel living. Older motel, clean but could use some paint and replacement linens. The room was quiet. The bed was comfortable. Walking distance to downtown Arcata. I got exactly what I expected - a motel room. Staff in the front office was friendly. They had coffee on. If I were touristing or staying for more than just one night, I wouldn't stay here. But it worked for me for the one night I was there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is our second visit to Arcata this year, the first time in April we stayed at another place at the edge of the town where there are several motels and a shopping strip nearby for the preview at HSU. It was a nice stay then, but during the first stay we saw this little place right next to HSU that we didn't know before because it didn't show up on the online search that we used. We were a little hesitant when we saw the reviews about this place but decided to try anyway because of the strategic location, and it exceed our expectations in most aspects. The room is reasonably clean and cozy, the staff are cheerful and helpful and its right in town so we can just walk everywhere. Overall our stay was a delight and it will be our first choice the next time we come to visit our daughter.

Room Tip: The street in front of the motel is very busy during the day so close the windows if you are sensiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrlc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Walls make no difference- hear every noise, conversation, party. Nestled between 2 freeways - tons of traffic noise. Pot smoking in all upstairs rooms I walked by. Only room available in town or would move asap.

Clerk at desk was delightful - best part of stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelswell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arcata hotels

Grass Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Small and old, but clean. We were visiting Humboldt State and it is literally right next door so you don't have to park on campus! It is next to the freeway and noisy, but late at night it quiets down quite a bit. It has WiFi in the rooms and almost no outlets in the room--we had 3 total and none of them close to the desk for the computer.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
2.0 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#7 of 10 in Arcata
210 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Motel

Property: Fairwinds Motel
Address: 1674 G St, Arcata, CA 95521-5649
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairwinds Motel is a motel in Arcata, California, where distance is better expressed in minutes, not miles. It is located by the 101 Freeway along the California North Coast right next to Humboldt State University in the heart of the Redwood Country between the Humboldt Redwoods State Park and the Redwood National Park, home of the world tallest trees and other nature attractions, all of those can be reached in less than 60 minutes of driving. The motel rooms are clean and comfortable with free wireless internet so you can do business while relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairwinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Arcata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing