We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in the area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arcata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mad River Rapids RV Park
Fort Irwin, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best option in the area”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Traveling through northern California this appeared to be our best option for the night. Only place we could find between Brookings, OR and Eureka, CA on the 101 with paved pull through sites. $36 a night with the GS discount is a bit steep for this location, but I am willing to pay for the ease of paved pull through sites. Utilities are located in an awkward spot for the site, but did all work. No noise issues while here, nor transients noted. They have a handy mini-mart on location. I would recommend this place for a single night, not long term. They did have some long term residents who had gone so far as to build decks onto their rv's. Management was nice enough, no security issues noted. That being said I wouldn't stay in the town of Arcata longer than the night it takes you to rest and move on.

Room Tip: Get one of the pull throughs from 14-21 and its a breeze in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

dirty laundry and restrooms. people smoking. transients from outside using facilities. no security. manager not very friendly. expensive for an rv park. neighbors noisy. dogs barking all night and day, too much traffic thru park all night/day and from highway all day and night...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Good: California Welcome Center is around the corner. There is a good Mexican restaurant next to the park. The pool was warm, but didn’t go swimming. Restrooms semi-clean. Laundry worked and was $2.50 a load.

The Bad: No Security. People from outside the park walked in to use the restrooms. They have a 3 digit “secret” code for their restrooms. Our site, according to the older lady running the “mini-mart”, was the only one available for the night. She either lied, or about 15 reservations didn’t show. We had a site with small children next to the busiest road in the park. The sewer line was too small for our RV. Lots of dog poop all over the grassy areas. You need to register to use WiFi. Over $45 a night.

After staying at a beautiful secure RV park in the Redwoods the pervious three nights, Mad River was a big disappointment. Not sure why the other reviews are so good?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The managers (Tim and Sandy) are AWESOME! Always there to help you out. They go above and beyond to take care of their residents/guests. This is the cleanest, quietest RV park around! Whether you are passing thru or looking to stay for awhile, this is the place you should stay. Clean showers and bathrooms, laundry, well-stocked convenience store, hot tub and pool (seasonal). This is the best place in the area by far. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SandraHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

The Mad River Rapids RV Park located in Humboldt County sits just off of Highway 101 on Janes Road between Arcata and McKinleyville, California. There are 92 full hook-up (30 amp) paved sites, some with shade, and 39 drivel-thru sites, with the remainder being back-ins. Each site has cable TV and there is WiFi service in most sites. The sites are level and well landscaped. The park is extremely clean with restrooms and showers, dumping station, public phone, laundry, and a food store with RV supplies. It has a heated swimming pool, spa, horseshoes, recreation hall, game room, and playground.

Pets are allowed on leash, and there are several designated dog walk areas. The park doesn’t allow tents or sleeping outside of your RV. There are no open fire pits, but each site has a picnic table. One nice feature is that there is an excellent Mexican restaurant located at the parks entrance, a flat short walk from anywhere in the park.

Helpful?
5 Thank paloeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcata hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#9 of 10 in Arcata
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Arcata Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Rapids RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Rapids RV Park

Property: Mad River Rapids RV Park
Address: 3501 Janes Rd, Arcata, CA 95521-4529
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing