We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were able to get a great price on the internet for a room at the Best Western Arcata Inn (saved over $50 from what they wanted at the Hampton across the street). Access to the hotel is just off the main road and near restaurants. When you pull in, it does not look all that impressive (especially compared to other hotels we stayed in during our trip). The staff, however, was excellent and VERY responsive. Upon making a call to the front desk when our TV did not turn on, they were at our room in under 2 minutes (just enough time for me to fix the problem myself). The room was clean and large enough to spread out. The beds were comfortable. The pool is indoor/outdoor. Breakfast was good and had enough of a selection to satisfy everyone. The other hotels we stayed in during our trip were nicer aesthetically, but we were very happy with this choice. While this hotel will most likely not make your Top 10 list, it is a solid choice and comfortable place to stay in the Redwoods area. I recommend it and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    261
    73
    13
    7
See reviews for
246
215
46
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Heading down from Oregon on the coast we had been in the SUV all day long and were finally ready to hang our weary heads in any old hotel room. Just north of Arcata we spied a Holiday Inn Express and popped in to book a room...Wrong...They were sold out...Full up on a weeknight in Arcata, California? We hit the internet on the smart phone instantly and saw this hotel...My lady called and got an extremely friendly fellow on the line...We told him our quick story and he said he had ONE room left...We took it sight unseen...Glad we did because we really needed some sack time BUT it turned out to be a really nice place to stay...Not cheap, but not over the top either...Our check in was quick and superbly handled and our room was much better than average...The bed was also so damn nice...Great mattress...Stay here, but be a bit smarter than we were...Book it earlier in the day....And then get your zzzzzz's on!

Room Tip: If you have a family you might like to spend some time on their grounds...They have picnic tables an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed here one night on my way to the Redwoods. It was pretty busy as there appeared to be some sort of corvette caravan. We were put on the first floor and you could hear some noise above, as with most of these places, they do not insulate between floors very well. I did not eat the breakfast as I was told by others in my party it wasn't very good-so I walked over to McDonald's which luckily is next door. Suitable place for short stays. Gentleman working check in desk was really nice and courteous. Very professional.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank proftravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lompoc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights with our 2 year old and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The price was right, rooms very very clean and updated with little touches, (like clean tv remote and double sheeted bed and lots of thick towels) that will certainly bring me back! The front desk staff were very nice and helpful at all times. The pool was so nice being half inside and half outside. Lots of lush green grass for our little one to run around and beautiful flowers. Close to everything and a very quiet room, even though we were in the back near the freeway. The beds were the best and wanted to take the pillows home with me. All the free cookies at the front desk were such a treat for our 2 year old, not to mention the great coffee. Thank you. I highly recommend this Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcc185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I can't believe this hotel is not a Best Western Plus, while the one in Eureka near the Bayshore Mall is. While the Arcata Inn may not look like much from the street, the reception staff is so kind and professional and the rooms are VERY surprising. I felt like I was in a luxury hotel. They have done wonderful things with an older property. I stayed here twice, once in a whirlpool suite and once in a room with two queens. They were both thoughtfully appointed with toiletries and towels in the areas you might need them, rather than what would be most convenient for housekeeping. I wish I had chosen to stay here my whole trip; very disappointed with the Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn (Eureka).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamayogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay - our room was clean, quiet, and the staff was friendly. We especially appreciated that it's dog-friendly! Many retired people like ourselves are now traveling with a dog. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We chose this property to stay at because we saw it last year after staying at the Best Western in Eureka on our way to see the Coastal Redwoods.While this property is not as new as the one in Eureka, the location is so much better.It is quiet and located across from a small shopping center that has a Dollar Tree, Carl's Jr., Subway and Round Table Pizza. There is a McDonald's almost next door.

They have a continental breakfast,indoor pool and they have souvenirs for purchase at the front desk that are the same price that we saw at the visitor centers at the Redwood Parks.

The BEST thing to see in Arcata is the Arcata Community Forest. It is a 600 acre forest of redwood trees with many walking trails. It is located behind Humboldt State University. We couldn't believe that Arcata had it's own redwood forest.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Default33009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
15.6 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn
Address: 4827 Valley W Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Arcata Hotel Arcata
Arcata Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing