We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Arcata Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
South Lyon, Michigan
31
Reviewed 6 October 2013

They had the most comfortable beds and the absolute best Pillows I have ever had in any best western anywhere. Great nights sleep., we have been staying at a lot of Best westerns but this was the most comfortable. Just a side not the Hot tub was very small and the pool was just ok.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Arcata Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Excellent breakfast and nice room. Close to the Redwood Forest areas of northern California. Large room with refrigerator. Helpful staff since the National Park was shut-down and staff provided locations on the State Parks which were open.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The room was large and very clean, with a very comfortable bed. Even though the hotel is near the freeway, the room was extremely quiet. The Wi-Fi was strong, the breakfast was fine, and Arcata has lots of restaurants to choose from not far away. Altogether, a good value and an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was slightly worried we'd be arriving on skid row, having read some of the reviews, but all was well. Stayed one night in one of the refurbished rooms, which has been done really nicely, clean, comfortable, great tv, everything working.We were on second floor so unfortunately had to carry heavy luggage up stairs, only downside. Staff professional and friendly. Fresh baked cookies and coffee in reception, very welcome. Hotel, in my opinion in ok location, we didn't come across anything troublesome... Although we didn't venture out at night anyway. Would stay again.

Room Tip: There is a supermarket across the road of you want to buy food to eat in. If you have heavy bags get...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirazWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great location for visiting HSU. Rooms are clean and spacious. Afternoon cookies were great. Enjoyed the spa and pool. No problem at all with smokers. Breakfast is ample and varied. My third visit. Will return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickiesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

As others have said, this is an older motor court stlye BW. In process of remodelling room by room, so ask for a new one. Arcata has limited choices and are heavily impacted by the local college's schedule so be aware prices change dramatically. I was impressed by the quality of the remodel, but not the housekeeping or staff. We had to have our room remade since it looked like Goldilocks had been sleeping in our bed. Why they chose a room for us that bordered the highway when I asked for a quiet room shows inattention (they moved us satisfactorily).
Arcata and Eureka are homeless meccas which despite the quaint shops and beautiful architecture don't encourage you to stay or go out to dinner. For a good stay try Fortuna or for totally cute: Ferndale (Wow!).

Room Tip: Get an upper floor near the front of the complex, the back building parallels Hwy 101/1.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24601JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I recently had the unique experience of staying in 3 different Best Westerns in 3 cities over 8 nights while hiking in Crater Lake, Lassen Volcanic and Redwood National Parks in southern Oregon and northern California.

This BW is motel style in that you access your room directly from the parking lot. This BW has 2 two-story buildings, 1 really long building and the other much smaller.

This property has a total of 62 rooms, half of which are nonsmoking. The 2nd story of both buildings is accessed by outside stairs. Be warned that neither building has an elevator so if you have a heavy bag and a 2nd story room, you will have to lug it up and down the stairs.

This was the 3rd BW I stayed at on my trip, and I liked it 2nd best even though it is not a BW Plus property.

I was in room 231, a queen bed room on the 2nd floor of the smaller building. I won’t waste the bandwidth to describe the room in detail since you can get this information on their web site. Suffice it to say it was nicely furnished but not overly crowded with furniture the way some properties are. The free in-room Wi-Fi was strong and worked well.

Even though not a BW Plus, this property had an indoor spa and an indoor/outdoor pool in a separate building, and a BBQ area. The breakfast room just off the lobby was large and attended, and had a good choice of options. I also found the lobby staff to be friendly and helpful.

The area of town this property is in is not the best and there are numerous homeless wandering around, but that seems to be the norm in Arcata, known in California as the “Berkeley of the North”. That said, I never had a problem during my 2 nights here.

My room was clean and quiet, and the service was good; therefore, I recommend it.

See my other 2 BW reviews for Klamath Falls, Oregon, and Red Bluff, California.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Arcata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Arcata Inn

Address: 4827 Valley W Boulevard, Arcata, CA 95521-4693
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: £75 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Arcata Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Arcata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Arcata Hotel Arcata
Arcata Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing