We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE LIGHT WASN'T LEFT ON”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
YUBA CITY , CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“THE LIGHT WASN'T LEFT ON”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Tom Bodett where are you? what a disappointing stay...hadn't stayed in a Motel 6 in years and being the last motel with rooms available for the weekend in Ft.Bragg, CA . First off our room wasn't ready upon arrival. We did make reservations on Wednesday. We had to ask for towels. The carpet floor was filthy ... what more needs to be said... will never stay there again !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giestecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    15
    13
    20
See reviews for
15
23
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The front desk staff were friendly and tried to be helpful but that was the only good thing about this location. It was so bad here we ended up checking out and finding another place to stay. I know it's motel 6 and I'm not expecting much when I stay here but this place is terrible, even for a motel 6. Our non-smoking room smelled awful. The smell upon entering the room was so bad we asked to change rooms but we were told that was the last room and they had just cleaned some of the carpets in the rooms so they didn't have as many rooms available. We were given a spray to deal with the odor which didn't help much. Went to turn on the a/c in the room and that didn't work either. That's when we checked out. Room felt and looked dirty. The whole property had a very bad vibe. Homeless people and questionable people seem to have taken over this area. If possible, I would advise skipping Arcata and Eureka and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winchester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Winchester99 - Thank you for sharing your review. We sincerely apologize for the odor and cleanliness issues you encountered in your room. These issues are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we kindly encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arcata hotels

L.a.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I could hear people talking outside the room just as though the door was open, people were walking around outside early in the morning and the interment didn't work (they did refund our Internet charge) the staff was very friendly, the grounds were well kept. Would have liked a bathtub.

Room Tip: If you want a bath tub ask for a room with one. The rooms by the stairs are the noisy ones as the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I like the Motel 6 chain but this one is not good. Good location but the room smelled so bad we had to open windows to air it out.
I think the carpet was the problem, old damp looking and STINKY.

I took a photo of the bathroom sink to send to the corporate headquarters, old and impossible to get clean. Disgusting!
But the big surprise was a clean new shower and clean toilet.

They were dog friendly but I don't think I can stay in this place again: NOT CLEAN.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZORtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, California, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Needed a last minute hotel room in Arcata and this was my option since the nice Best Western was booked. I have stayed over the years at other Motel 6 hotels which were fine so no concerns. Front desk staff was nice, polite, efficient. And then everything went downhill from there. Property is clearly older and looks rough around edges. Non smoking room smelled. Bed looked already used and tired. Carpet was filthy and crunchy. Bathroom looked newer and clean. Fellow guests were very scary. Hanging out in parking lot smoking and drinking. One guest had two large and powerful pit bulls in his room. Just not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRL1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

The place is bad if not awful. We got a room with two queen beds but the room smelt so bad, that we did'nt want to stay there.
We got another room without problems from the staff. It also had a smell but from som cleaning chemicals so we had to live with that as we arrived late after a long days journey.
There was wifi in the room but the charged us dollars 2.99 pr day pr device. The wifi worked pnly for ''the day'' because in the morning you had to pay another 2.99 to go online.
The carpet on the room was full of stains and so bad looking that we did not want to walk around without shoes.
Do not go there, it's not worth the money spent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensolaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Bathroom floor was filthy and it smelled really smokey even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room. Beds and linin seemed new and clean. The staff was friendly. The neighborhood is a little rough though.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gm1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.3 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
132 reviews
7.9 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University

Property: Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University
Address: 4755 Valley West Blvd, US 101/Redwood Highway at Giuntoli Lane, Arcata, CA 95521-4637
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Arcata - Humboldt University Hotel Arcata
Motel Six Arcata
Arcata Motel Six
Arcata Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing