We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather Depressing”
Review of Ramada Arcata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Arcata
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Reviewed 1 September 2011

First of all, please note, if you are the least bit allergic to pets DO Not stay here. The first thing I encountered when I entered the lobby to check in was a cat crawling around on the sofa near the front desk. I love cats but I'm also so allergic to them. The next morning the cats were in the breakfast room. Anyway, that aside let's talk about the hotel itself. The rooms were clean but very run down looking. The TV in the first room was an old analog that would have been in it's prime during the Nixon administration. The curtains in both rooms were more like worn out rags poorly hanging over the windows. The windows were filthy and crusted by salt water fog. Room 232 was a 'deluxe' room, which meant it did have a flat screen TV and an ugly but very comfy lounge chair. Most importantly the 'deluxe' room had a micro/fridge. The shower in the standard room had poor water pressure vs. the one in the 'deluxe' room that had a great hand held shower device and good pressure. Suffice it to say if you must stay here, pony up for a deluxe. The hotel does have a swimming pool outdoors and an adjacent tennis court both of which are shared with the trailer park next door.
All in all this is an OK place to flop for one night but their rates reflect what should be a better kept property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upgradeThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

THIN walls. Spotty wifi. Mirror in 112 hung with many extra holes in wall. Faucet made lots of noise and sprayed a huge circle. Shower curtain holder coming out of wall on both ends. Bath tub took way too long to fill. The swimming pool and hot tub was shared with a RV park. Hot tub empty one of two days after being serviced . Room was clean. Bed mattress was 5 on scale of ten. Breakfast was not bad.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was our second stay at this motel. We have always gotten very friendly service. They are very laid back, with a cat in the lobby (since we are not allergic, it was not a concern). We did not need to use the pool or tennis courts. They did not have a problem with our request to be downstairs by an exit and a room with a microwave/refrigerator. They are also very close to the beach, so I could take my service dog to run early in the a.m. and get on with our day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mt196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I are allergic to cats and dogs so worried about staying here. No other place had rooms so we decided it couldn't be that bad. Well, our allergies were fine. And we had a very pleasant stay--and fast wireless. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jthompsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Not the newest hotel in the area, but they were so friendly when we arrived and the breakfast was great! They accept pets, so that made us happy. If you want great service at a decent price, try this place out!

Room Tip: Call them yourself and chat with the ladies on staff, you will get a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorenaC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

No major complaints except that their advertised "high speed internet" had such a weak signal that it was useless for my basic work needs. When I called the front desk to complain, I was told that everything was locked in the office and the front desk had no access to the router/modem until the morning. This apparently is a frequent complaint: in the morning the clerk said she would write "another note to the owner about this" because usually a reset didn't help anyway.

Don't stay here if you expect to get any computer work done. I was very frustrated and not offered any compensation for an unproductive night. So between that and the poor night's sleep I got on the overly-firm mattress, I left an unhappy customer.

On the upside, if you're in the area, try the wonderful family run Greek restaurant in the shopping center across the street from this place!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sOccermama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

No Frills pet friendly hotel $10 Pet Fee per night. Staff was very friendly. Not much to town but pretty drive to and from town. North of town. Head to downtown, fun square. Very eclectic, hippy(Humbolt County) vibe. Mexican restaurant at hotel has nice staff and strong beverages. Not much area to exercise pet.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
7.8 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Arcata

Address: 3535 Janes Rd, Arcata, CA 95521-4529 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: £46 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Arcata 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Arcata
Quality Inn Arcata
Arcata Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing