We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would look for a better place if I return”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Arcata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Arcata
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
san francisco
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“I would look for a better place if I return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

this motel leaves a lot to be desired. The walls are thin and the plumbing is noisy. The highway noise is noticeable. They stock some unusual and uncomfortable small square pillows. The breakfast is average with a decent selection of hot and cold items for a budget hotel. The people at the front desk were nice. Based on feedback from others at the meeting I was attending, I would book the best western in arcata.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    65
    45
    34
    18
See reviews for
62
48
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Nice motel, have stayed here in the past & always find it clean and with a good breakfast. A nice pool if you choose to swim. They do allow dogs in certain rooms. Good area across from motel to walk dogs, which is a plus. Quiet area, no freeway noise.

Room Tip: This motel has two levels. If you don't like stairs, you might want to request a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doolittlespots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 2 different nights on our trip. Both times we were treated very well by the front desk person. Check in was quick and they were accommodating when some in our party wanted to change from a 2nd floor to a 1st floor room. We stayed in 2 different rooms, both were clean and presentable. The beds were decent although the pillows were a mixed bag of good and bad. Both rooms were quiet and we didn't get any noise between rooms. The breakfast was the average menu for a Quality Inn, not great but serviceable. I would probably stay here again as it was very easy to get to and we were treated well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yreka, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The room was very nice and clean. The bed pillows were terrible. 8inch square over stuffed. We complained and told it was company policy because they like the way they look on the bed.

Room Tip: Bring a good pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

After staying at the hotel, and then reading other reviews of it, I'm not sure which rooms others had stayed in, or who checked them in, but I found none of the other reviews to be accurate. We arrived and the desk clerk, I believe Lorna (?) greeted us with small talk and was very pleasant. In fact, we sat and talked to her for about 10 minutes. I will say that the building our rooms were in did not have a lock to keep out non- hotel guests, but at the time, it didn't bother us. Our room was clean, didn't smell, wasn't anything special, but was comfortable and did it's job for us. WiFi worked, we had a refrigerator (Not a deluxe room) and didn't find hairs on towels, sheets, etc. like other guests have alleged. Sleeping was fine- quiet area, didn't hear neighbors except when they woke and took a shower. Breakfast was continental and nothing special, but got us on our way. Again, it's a Quality Inn and it was exactly what we were hoping for. Not once did I have a feeling that we weren't safe, or the place was dirty or the staff was rude. In fact, when we checked out, Lorna wasn't there, but someone just as friendly was. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arminius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

First off, the area that the hotel is in is much, much better than across the highway in the Giuntoli Court (where the other major hotels are located). Janes Rd. is made up primarily of quiet, residential, family neighborhoods while the Giuntoli proper is made up of mostly low-income and student apartments. As for the hotel itself, they are quite friendly and will accept cash with a deposit (you'll get it back!). They are understanding of circumstances, and will sometimes waive the pet fee and bend their own rules if you are a regular or returning customer. Room rates fluctuate, but again, they will generally give you a nice, low rate if you're willing to bargain (I think I paid around 70/night when it said over $100 online). The facilities and accomodations are above average, especially for the price: Non -smoking rooms are clean, "business-casual"-ish, with working appliances and utilities. Clean, comfortable beds, although the pillows are small and they wrap them up really tight...and as for the showers, be prepared for a super-ultra-conservation-style stream of water; Not quite enough to really clean off well, imho...but the verdict on this place is generally favorable overall.

A Note to travelers in Humboldt (and elsewhere): Most of the hotels in Humboldt display a real discrepancy between non-smoking and smoking accommodations; Smoking rooms are generally in much poorer shape, regardless of the hotel. Therefore, as a smoker myself, I recommend getting a non-smoking room and taking your butts outside, as your overall comfort will suffer otherwise.

Room Tip: Non-Smoking. Everywhere you go, this is a good rule of thumb-but especially in Northern California.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCN1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We traveled to Arcata for baseball. We stayed at the Quality Inn due to convenience to the ballpark. The hotel was quiet and we had a good breakfast in the morning. The make your own waffles were delicious and they also had ham and other assorted continental items. The hot items rotate from day to day but always have waffles which was a hit. The room was fine and clean, slight odor but not bad...nothing extravagant. There was a Mexican restaurant next door which we ate dinner at and even received a discount for staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Arcata Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Arcata

Property: Ramada Arcata
Address: 3535 Janes Rd, Arcata, CA 95521-4529 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Arcata 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Arcata
Quality Inn Arcata
Arcata Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing