We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kareninasf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Check in was very smooth, staff friendly and efficient. Our room on first floor. The first thing I noticed was how dark it was, and the moldy smell. I opened the curtains and opened the window. The window screen frame was broken. As the light came in I could see the dirt build up on the carpet and the stains. It appears items in the room had been replaced, like the bathroom tub enclosure,countertop, mirror, but the areas around these items had two colors of paint showing, holes, and exposed non painted sheetrock. The funiture had numerous dents and scratches showing the plywood underneath. On the nightstand layed a broken switch plate cover for electrical outlet by beds. The sheets were clean, and the beds were on the firm side. Breakfast was okay, no meat or biscuits and gravy. Just waffles, cereals, boiled eggs, bananas, breads, gogurts, coffee and juice. The breakfast area was clean. The area around the hotel was home to many homeless people and their pets. I wouldn't walk around after dark.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loryship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank wetraveltogetheras1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The motel is on a typical "Motel Row" near a freeway offramp a few minutes north of the center of Arcata. In walking distance there is a large shopping area with a supermarket and a host of other smaller places like a DollarTree, Carl's Jr. and Roundtable Pizza. Not much charm but an area to get supplies for your travel to nicer places.

The check-in lady was friendly. The room was typical modern-motel. It has all the things you'd expect from this kind of place like shampoo, cable TV, iron and ironing board and wifi - although the wifi was really slow. Thin towels. The sheets and blanket didn't keep me adequately warm without turning the heater on. Too bad that energy had to be wasted. Parking is free but can be difficult when there's a full house. There was a small indoor pool that I didn't use. Bare bones fitness room.

Breakfast wasn't great. There are fruit options but not many. Lot's of carb heavy stuff like toast and waffles from a waffle maker. Very limited seating in the breakfast area.

Okay, but not at all a destination spot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Glencie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visiting HSU....stayed 3 nights. When I reserved room, I requested top floor end unit because I'm a light sleeper. Checked in room was located in middle of hotel. Had to go back and request a different location. I did receive another room. Only to find cheap furniture, stained bedding and drapes, and over sized and ripped bed skirts. Alarm clock didn't work. We were so tired we stayed. Turned on air condition...it was warm air....at best. Thought process was "only 3nights." The icing on the cake....after they cleaned our room for the day. We would find random hairs everywhere, especially the bathroom. Definitely not ours!!!! Really????

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed there this past Friday and Saturday nights and had no problems. The room and amenities met my needs, everything was clean, wi fi was free, and there was a daily free continental breakfast. Parking was adequate and the staff were all nice, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a king bed room which provided plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gin11153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
0.4 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
139 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
15.7 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area

Address: 4700 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4660 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Arcata)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: £72 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the redwoods, the Comfort Inn Arcata is the perfect place to spend your vacation while exploring California's pristine northern coast. Located conveniently nearby to restaurants, markets, and beautiful beaches, you will find Humboldt county to be a relaxing getaway. The hotel itself offers complimentary hot breakfast, an indoor heated swimming pool, and a spa to help you feel relaxed and right at home. Recently renovated, our interior access rooms are cozy and furnished with new furniture and beds. We also offer guest laundry services, a fitness room, free high speed wireless internet, and 24 hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arcata Hotel Arcata
Howard Johnson Arcata
Arcata Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing