We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suzanne was very helpful when I initially made the booking...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our room had a very bad smell of urine. Everything was very dated and needed upgrading. The bedding was only sheets and a thin bedspread and the pillows were tiny. The room did come with free wifi and a basic breakfast. If you need just a place to sleep for the night and can't find anything else close by, this will do but we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We are sorry to see, Calsierra, that you were not satisfied with your stay! Had you mentioned any issue to the staff, there are always options to accommodate, and we would have been happy to do so. I'm thinking its possible you may have been in a pet friendly room just before our regular carpet cleaning. If you are sensitive to smells, you may have picked up on that. We have never had anyone call our comforters "thin," but if you were cold, we have new heating units and could have brought you more blankets. You must have been here quite some time ago, as the term "outdated" does not describe what we offer. We have new flat screen tvs, coffee makers that make individual cups of coffee and new mattresses in all the recently painted rooms. Our current breakfast is considered by almost every guest to be much more than "basic." We now have boiled eggs, waffles and real oatmeal added to the wide variety we had before, which included yogurt and bagels as well as basic continental with fruits, cereals and pastries. We are going to be adding even more choices in the near future. The amenities we offer are really too numerous to mention in one post and our customer service is considered exemplary. We can't know for certain why your experience would prompt you to leave a bad review, but we are certain that we would have assisted you had you asked for it. We are upgrading all the time to stay current with modern trends. It would be nice if you could return at some time in the future and you can see for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Great beds. A very acceptable breakfast. A great price. One person in my party has multiple chemical sensitivities, and although we aired out the room initially, she was very comfortable after that. We were told there are new owners, and that all the beds are being replaced. This was an excellent value stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you, Kathy S, for your review! It is gratifying to see our efforts to provide service, cleanliness and comfort at a reasonable price are appreciated! Our motto is "The Best Value Under The Sun" and we work hard to live up to that promise. We hope you will return at some time in the future. We will look forward to seeing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 March 2014

In the past, we have stayed directly across the street at a more expensive, bigger, hotel. We decided to try something new this time and I'm glad we did. Our stay began with a warm welcome at the front desk and ended with a 6.9 earthquake giving us a good shake. The entire stay was pleasant and comfortable. I could tell there were some upgrades going on throughout the property, but I'm not sure what exactly was going on. The room was clean, the restroom facilities and heater worked well. No problems. Breakfast was delightful, as there was a bit more available than typical "free" offerings. I especially liked the flavored waffle options - blueberry was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. For our budget, this was a perfect spot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you, Ann H, for making us laugh. The "warm welcome to a 6.9 earthquake" had us rolling and it wasn't an earthquake this time. We're happy you noticed upgrades and enjoyed the breakfast. But, come back soon! There are always new things to look forward to here. We are expecting some upgrades soon you're sure to enjoy. Cheese omelets for breakfast and new, modern linens for all of the rooms. Our motto is "promise sure as the sun." You will always receive fresh comfortable rooms and friendly welcomes! No promises on earthquakes, though. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
0.3 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
139 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Arcata

Address: 4701 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4637 (Formerly Arcata Redwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Arcata 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently close to Highway 101 and Arcata/Eureka Airport you will find our Days Inn Hotel & Suites Arcata CA hotel. Begin your day with a free continental breakfast or check your email using free Wi-Fi Internet access. When it's time to relax, go for a swim in our indoor heated pool or spa tub and then dry off in your guestroom, featuring a refrigerator and microwave. For additional space, upgrade to a suite with a hot tub or sofa bed. Our hotel in Arcata also features handicapped-accessible rooms as well as parking for large vehicles. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Spend the day strolling through Arcata Plaza, where on weekends you will find a Farmers Market or festivals, in addition to many shops and restaurants. In the summer you can see the Humboldt Crabs take the field at The Arcata Ball Park. Experience old-world charm close by in the town of Eureka, home to numerous boutique shops and historic buildings. Our Arcata hotel is also close to Humboldt State University, Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt Lagoons and the Trinidad beaches. DINING OPTIONS Enjoy delectable Italian specialties close by at Abruzzi Restaurant, or grab a fresh beer on tap at Lost Coast Brewery. If you love sushi, visit Cafe Tomo, located in Arcata Plaza. When looking to have a family meal, try Samoa Cookhouse, known for their all-you-can-eat biscuits and gravy and fried chicken, all served family-style. Familiar and quick options are also near our Arcata hotel including Carl's Jr., McDonald's and Subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcata Redwood Hotel Arcata
Comfort Inn Arcata
Arcata Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing