We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot tub, good breakfast, nice people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn & Suites Arcata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Stevenson, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hot tub, good breakfast, nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a cut above the chain motels. Nice room, inexpensive, very good breakfast, large room with hot tub to relax in after hours of driving AND a charging station for electric cars. Suzanne was very welcoming and helpful. We will certainly stay here again.

Con: Laundry cost $3 for one wash, and $2 for drying it, plus $1 for soap. Too expensive.

Room Tip: We were in 103, car parked parallel in front, with steps to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nmwnmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you, Nmwnmw, for your nice review! We are very happy to see you had a comfortable stay and that you appreciated all the amenities. We also are happy to see you recognize the value of our professional, helpful staff. There is an agent available at the desk 24 hours and they are always happy to assist. Regarding laundry cost, we recognize that it does initially seem high to pay $5.00 for a load of laundry. The washers & dryers undergo heavy use regularly. In order to keep it well maintained and operational we do have to charge. It is also in line with the cost to do laundry at a Laundromat in the area, so we feel the benefits and savings of not having to travel to wash clothing justifies a bit more than at first seems fair. The laundry is for the benefit of our guests, not to make a profit. We are very happy to see you would stay with us again and do hope you will return soon! We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    172
    89
    38
    25
See reviews for
220
99
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were in Arcata a couple weeks ago and needed a motel for an extended stay of 10 days. We checked out all of the motels in the area near the Days Inn. They gave us the best rate and showed us multiple rooms to choose from. All the rooms looked fine, and we found ours to be clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was excellent. It was always clean and well-serviced, and there was a large variety of options to choose from. We didn't go swimming, but the indoor pool looked great. Very clean and well-maintained. We did use the hot tub and it was also clean and well-serviced. The grounds looked good. There was a spot for charging electric cars and there were some clean grills for barbecuing. The staff behind the desk was always friendly and responsive. We had to leave a day early due to an unexpected family emergency, and the front desk refunded our last day - no questions asked. I have never taken the time to write a review online in the past of any motel or restaurant, but I got such a good vibe from this place... I learned a little bit about its history from the front desk staff. Apparently it was pretty run-down a couple years ago with a marginal clientele. Then it was taken over by a new owner. The new owner obviously takes pride in running a quality establishment, and the rest of the staff shares in that pride. It's really a nice thing to see a place turn a corner and do things right. They are still in the process of doing some upgrades, so it'll be good to see the continued improvements unfold. Congrats to all there, and thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you, Scott F, for your delightful review! It pleased us all very much! Yours is the review we work so hard to receive and we are so pleased to hear we have accomplished it! The upgrades coming up next are a new gazebo and new linens for the rooms. I know you will enjoy those too and we all hope you will come back and see it. We will look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This was a nice motel to sleep at on our way north. The main reason we stopped here is because they had two new J1772 Level 2 EV chargers for electric cars. We told them ahead of time that we were EV travelers and they said they'd have the chargers ready for us.

When we arrive the chargers looked brand-new. Apparently we were the second people to use them! The woman working the front counter was very friendly and attentive. She helped us with the EV charger.

The rooms were standard motel fair. The dresser, nightstand, and small table were the generic motel furniture. Though there were a few upgrades. The TV was an HDTV, and the room was clean. They had free wireless internet service, but the signal was very poor from our room (104). After messing with our settings on several devices we couldn't get a good signal unless we stood in 1 corner of the room. Regardless we were tired and slept.

They did have an on site laundry facility which we used. They also provided a breakfast from 6am to 10am in the lobby.

If we're passing through this area again, we'd probably stay here if we need a charge for our car.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you, Shane D, for your review! Of course we remember our second Electric Car Charging Station user! It was a pleasure to have you and your wife stay with us. I'm sorry to see you had Wi-Fi issues, though. Sometimes resetting will help, so next time you stay, let Front Desk know if you have those issues. We do hope you will return! We are always happy to see our returning guests! By the time you arrive, there will be even more upgrades! Upgrades are happening on a regular basis and we are almost as excited about those as we are the car charging station! We will look forward to seeing you, your wife, and your Tesla again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our room had a very bad smell of urine. Everything was very dated and needed upgrading. The bedding was only sheets and a thin bedspread and the pillows were tiny. The room did come with free wifi and a basic breakfast. If you need just a place to sleep for the night and can't find anything else close by, this will do but we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsGM, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Arcata, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are sorry to see, Calsierra, that you were not satisfied with your stay! Had you mentioned any issue to the staff, there are always options to accommodate, and we would have been happy to do so. I'm thinking its possible you may have been in a pet friendly room just before our regular carpet cleaning. If you are sensitive to smells, you may have picked up on that. We have never had anyone call our comforters "thin," but if you were cold, we have new heating units and could have brought you more blankets. You must have been here quite some time ago, as the term "outdated" does not describe what we offer. We have new flat screen tvs, coffee makers that make individual cups of coffee and new mattresses in all the recently painted rooms. Our current breakfast is considered by almost every guest to be much more than "basic." We now have boiled eggs, waffles and real oatmeal added to the wide variety we had before, which included yogurt and bagels as well as basic continental with fruits, cereals and pastries. We are going to be adding even more choices in the near future. The amenities we offer are really too numerous to mention in one post and our customer service is considered exemplary. We can't know for certain why your experience would prompt you to leave a bad review, but we are certain that we would have assisted you had you asked for it. We are upgrading all the time to stay current with modern trends. It would be nice if you could return at some time in the future and you can see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arcata hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcata
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
0.3 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
8.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Arcata

Property: Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Address: 4701 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, CA 95521-4637 (Formerly Arcata Redwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Arcata 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently close to Highway 101 and Arcata/Eureka Airport you will find our Days Inn Hotel & Suites Arcata CA hotel. Begin your day with a free continental breakfast or check your email using free Wi-Fi Internet access. When it's time to relax, go for a swim in our indoor heated pool or spa tub and then dry off in your guestroom, featuring a refrigerator and microwave. For additional space, upgrade to a suite with a hot tub or sofa bed. Our hotel in Arcata also features handicapped-accessible rooms as well as parking for large vehicles. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Spend the day strolling through Arcata Plaza, where on weekends you will find a Farmers Market or festivals, in addition to many shops and restaurants. In the summer you can see the Humboldt Crabs take the field at The Arcata Ball Park. Experience old-world charm close by in the town of Eureka, home to numerous boutique shops and historic buildings. Our Arcata hotel is also close to Humboldt State University, Sequoia Park Zoo, Humboldt Lagoons and the Trinidad beaches. DINING OPTIONS Enjoy delectable Italian specialties close by at Abruzzi Restaurant, or grab a fresh beer on tap at Lost Coast Brewery. If you love sushi, visit Cafe Tomo, located in Arcata Plaza. When looking to have a family meal, try Samoa Cookhouse, known for their all-you-can-eat biscuits and gravy and fried chicken, all served family-style. Familiar and quick options are also near our Arcata hotel including Carl's Jr., McDonald's and Subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcata Redwood Hotel Arcata
Comfort Inn Arcata
Arcata Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing