We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sequoia Woods

Sequoia Woods
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Arnold
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We had lunch there with members Mike and Cheryl Welch. Service, quality of food and golf course views all excellent! Very friendly and welcoming staff on beautiful setting in lovely Arnold.

Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Pictures of the giant trees are amazing, but seeing them up close and personal is amazing and I am so glad we spent many hours hiking both the South and North Groves. Very moving and memorable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lsuaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Scallops and Sweetbreads?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I would have never said I liked sweetbreads, but I love scallops. This combination turned up as a Friday night special and I took a chance. This chef, out of the box rocked it! The sweetbreads were melt in your mouth tender and tasted just like veal to me. Served with polenta and an excellent an slightly spicy sun dried tomato sauce, it surprised me how well it all went together.

As always the martini before dinner was excellent with the little slivers of ice from being properly shaken.

Was a little disappointed when the regular menu chocolate bread pudding had been replaced with a strawberry bread pudding. Hope they stick with the chocolate as the alternative didn't match it all.

We also had the rack of lamb, which is always served and has always been great.

Heard the chef here won one of the local challenges at Black Bear Inn. Keep an eye on this guy and go with his ideas for specials!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anselandyosemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The food and service was excellent. Looking out at the golf course was like a meditation session, it was so peaceful. The cocktails are also good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamestaylor109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The more formal side of Arnold”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This upscale restaurant at the golf club featured a lovely dining room with a view of the attractive golf course surrounded by fir trees. We enjoyed a good local wine, and the food was quite good. Prime rib was a treat and the caesar salad was delicious. Excellent, professional service added to the charm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JC-OMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sequoia Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing