We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved everything about the Black Bear Inn~”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arnold Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sonora, California
1 review
“We loved everything about the Black Bear Inn~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We were looking for a quick get-a-way to celebrate our 24th Wedding Anniversary and WOW, did we find the perfect spot! We loved everything about the Black Bear Inn from the minute we walked through the front door. Wendy took us on a tour of the property right away then showed us our room. We could see that the Monterey room was open and she offered to let us stay in which ever one we preferred. They even had chocolates with an anniversary card for us waiting in our room. Wendy made up a lovely plate of specialty cheeses and crackers paired with some wonderful wine, ( my favorite was the blueberry and apricot goat cheese). They took care of our dinner reservations for us, although next time we'll stay in and have Bruce do the cooking. I also LOVED that they let you choose what time you would like to eat breakfast, we decided to take advantage of their comfy beds and sleep in. We opened our door to delicious aromas that stirred our appetites and by the time we poured our coffee and sat down we were served a gorgeous display of fruit, with hickory smoked bacon, and French toast. It was absolutely wonderful. Everything about our stay was truly enjoyable! We plan on returning with several of our friends, maybe even take one of Bruce's hands-on cooking classes! How fun would that be!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
283
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We have stayed at the Arnold Black Bear in many many times. We have never been disappointed with the accomodations and meals. The breakfasts are amazing and enormous! We've had the pleasure of experiencing Chef Bruce's delicious dinners several times and they are to die for. Don't miss out on this opportunity for a fantastic dine-in experience.

The owners, Wendi and Bruce are truly doing what they are meant to do. Their dedication to your satisfaction is un-matched. They truly go out of their way to ensure you have the best experience possible. They are happy to help with local outings, restaurant advice and very knowledgable about the area in general. They are also really interesting people to talk to and get to know. Very fun! The local community of Arnold is also a refreshing mix of happy, interesting people and we've made many, many friends there.

Whenever we have a weekend or more to get away to the mountains for some peaceful relaxation, this is our destination of choice!

The beds are extremely comfortable and the hot tub is always ready and available for a spa experience, just steps from our luxurious room and spacious private bath.

We will be back Wendi and Bruce!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BettyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed at the Arnold Black Bear Inn on the spur of the moment, looking for something near the Calaveras Big Trees. It turns out to be a great place. The owners/hosts clearly know what they are doing, and have the talent, background, and enthusiasm to run this place. They were helpful and personable without being intrusive. The architecture of the Inn is beautiful, breakfast delicious, rooms comfortable. And the park with the Big Trees is about 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter40632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

As always, our hosts, Wendi and Bruce, provided what the doctor ordered - lots of rest, relaxation, and pampering. In need of a break from the City and pressures of life, we escaped to our favorite place and unplugged (although there is wi-fi access). We relaxed in the hot tub, unwound in the spa bath, were spoiled with wine and cheese on the patio, and nourished with amazing teriyaki salmon and grilled ceasar salad by Chef Bruce.

After a beautiful and delicious breakfast of fresh fruit and almond crusted french toast - yum! - we were delighted to discover that mt bike (and hiking) trails were just at the end of the cul-de-sac minutes from the Inn. Bruce set us up with a map of the marked and unmarked single-tracked trails. It was a gorgeously warm day and the trail was just waking up from its long winter nap. Fabulous.

We arrived on Friday afternoon and didn't leave the Inn except for our bike ride and dinner at the nearby country club - until we left on Sunday. After a hug to Wendi and Bruce we headed to Murphy's and hit our favorite spots: The Spice Tin, Marisolio's Olive Oil Tasting Bar, and a smattering of wine bars.

The drive home home was sultry and beautiful. Feeling refreshed and relazed we loved the serenity of the rolling road and afternoon glow on the fields on our way home to SF.

Thanks again for rebootin' us! We hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janellp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

This was our first time staying at the Black Bear Inn. The place is beautiful all the way around. The grounds are calming and the rooms are tastefully decorated. You can even choose rooms based on your mood ... from warm and cozy to bright and inviting! The owners are friendly and very attentive to details. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was perfect. We definitely will be going back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8TripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Everything about this bed and breakfast was wonderful! The facility was clean, warm, and hospitable. The owners were very friendly and treated us to every luxury imaginable! The french toast in the morning was a culinary delight!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Easy and scenic drive through rolling hills. Black Bear Inn is right off Highway 4. Wendi and Bruce are wonderful innkeepers. We ate a delicious gourmet meal (by our request) prepared by chef Bruce accompanied by a superb wine list. How wonderful not to have to leave the lodge for evening dining. So it truly is a bed, breakfast and dinner inn. In the afternoons after your day outings; just when your starting to want a little snack-it is wine and cheese time.The temperature throughout the lodge was just right. The covered spa was such a treat; nice and roomy and peaceful. We were thoroughly refreshed when we left Black Bear Inn. Wendi and Bruce have a natural gift for creating this ambience.

Room Tip: Calaveras room at the end of the lodge..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniselandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
1.7 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
10.0 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
16.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#2 of 2 in Arnold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
9.8 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Black Bear Inn

Property: Arnold Black Bear Inn
Address: 1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223
Region: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Sequoias, amazing scenery and quiet surroundings. You can experience all this and more year round at the only Bed & Breakfast in Arnold, California. The Black Bear Inn is a 5,200 square foot timber frame constructed inn on 1.3 acres in a park-like setting. Our five guest rooms have private baths, king beds, fireplaces, radiant heating and cooling, satellite television. Included in the room rate is a full, gourmet breakfast in the morning, and custom cheese trays & local wines each evening. Custom dinners also available upon request - call for menu options and pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arnold Black Bear Hotel Arnold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing