We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wish we could've stayed longer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arnold Black Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arnold Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apple Valley, California
2 reviews
“Wish we could've stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

This was our first trip to the Calaveras County area and, unsure of what to expect, we made reservations at the Arnold Black Bear Inn. Upon arrival we were welcomed and treated as friends by Wendi and Bruce. The wine and cheese in the evening was great but the chef’s breakfast each morning on the patio is worth the stay by itself. The rooms and surrounding grounds were clean and well maintained. We are already making plans to visit again and bring family with us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3mmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
278
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Every need was taken care of. Beautiful room, wonderful location and fabulous hosts. The wine in the evening was great, the breakfast delicious (would have liked more bacon) , every thing was great. We look forward to returning with more friends next year.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beanieleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is our second time at the Black Bear Inn and the new owners have managed to improve on an already great experience. The rooms are comfortable and the property itself is just immaculate. I'm not a huge fan of the B&B style, but I would never hesitate to come back for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berrydewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

This is our first trip to the Arnold area. The Black Bear Inn was picked from the excellent reviews. We are extremely happy with our choice. The room is tastefully decorated and very clean. The garden has beautiful landscape. Both the afternoon wine/snack and the morning breakfast are impeccably served. The friendly owners provided us with many useful local sightseeing tips that made our trip especially enjoyable. The inn is definitely a top-notch B & B. It is within a short drive to the Big Tree State Park and Lake Alpine. We certainly would stay here again when we return to this area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NHY32405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The closeness to Calaveras Big Trees brought us to this wonderful B&B. In the evenings we were served cheese with an excellent local wine (complimentary). After a good nights sleep we had a delicious breakfast (different every day) and a friendly relaxed chat with Bruce & Wendi who whenever we needed helped us in every way during our stay. Bruce & Wendi have feeling for hospitality. We highly recommend staying with them.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aiouqes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

My husband and I went to celebrate our birthdays. The Innkeepers, Wendi and Bruce were very helpful. They made our trip so relaxing. The evening wine and cheese was wonderful after a day of sight seeing at Calaveras Big Trees State Park. Also the breakfast on the patio was amazing. Great food with wonderful presentation. We enjoyed the 4th of July parade, arts and craft faire and evening bbq and concert. Was great to see Bruce and Wendi there too. They pay such attention to detail, and are so warm and friendly. Thank you so much. P.S. Loved the hot tub!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! All have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy54000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

The trees, lawn and building are beautiful and well cared for. Our room was large and comfortable and opened onto a green lawn + seating. We didn't get to use the hot tub but will next time!
Bruce and Wendi are very, very friendly and generous in all the little things. We arrived in time for a wine and cheese/charcuterie/fruit plate out on the patio and Wendi came out and poured more wine for us after we'd unwound and sat enjoying the tall trees that surround the property. If you hike you'll love the trailhead behind their place which leads down into National Forest. We went on a terrific hike after enjoying Chef Bruce's amazing breakfast...a nut coated French Toast with maple syrup and fruit on the side.
It 's an easy drive from the Black Bear Inn to Calaveras Big Trees State Park which was the reason we came. It's also an easy drive down to Murphys for wine tasting.
A romantic getaway!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
1.7 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
9.9 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
16.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
9.8 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
19.8 mi away
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
#1 of 1 in Bear Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Black Bear Inn

Property: Arnold Black Bear Inn
Address: 1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223
Region: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Sequoias, amazing scenery and quiet surroundings. You can experience all this and more year round at the only Bed & Breakfast in Arnold, California. The Black Bear Inn is a 5,200 square foot timber frame constructed inn on 1.3 acres in a park-like setting. Our five guest rooms have private baths, king beds, fireplaces, radiant heating and cooling, satellite television. Included in the room rate is a full, gourmet breakfast in the morning, and custom cheese trays & local wines each evening. Custom dinners also available upon request - call for menu options and pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arnold Black Bear Hotel Arnold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing