We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary Inn with a great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arnold Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Inn with a great location”
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days at the Black Bear Inn. We had a group of nine people, and everyone was delighted with this Inn. Everything is newly built, so clean, and gorgeous. The beds are extremely comfortable. There is a lot of love and attention to detail from the staff and owners of this inn. The homemade breakfast, made from scratch, was delicious, and is included with the room. The grounds are lush. Our three children loved running around the grounds and sitting in the hottub.

This is a lovely place with close proximity to so many interesting places. We walked the trail at North Grove of Calaveras Big Trees State park, which is only a few miles away. We also tried the new ziplining at Moaning Caverns, which was great. Our kids also enjoyed the panning for gems at the Moaning Caverns.

This was a very special vacation. I highly recommend this Inn.

  • Liked — Quiet, beautiful, great location
  • Disliked — no pool for our children
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CA_adventurer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
284
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hayward
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2008

The Black Bear Inn located in Arnold was fantastic! The people were great! So much attention to detail, everything was beautiful!
Great food too!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ladybug65Hayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2008

It's a perfectly kept little inn with all the amenities and great breakfast. Close to amazing trails and wineries. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oviroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We loved our room and the decor. Our breakfast was deliicous every morning for the three mornings we were there. The grounds are very well kept and beautiful. We enjoyed some stories from the area and ate at some great restaurants nearby.

We walked to the highway for the 4th of July parade at the suggestion of one of the employees. We were able to join some family and friends and enjoyed the seclusion of the Inn.

When asked, we will recommend it to other friends and family.

The 5 bedrooms, the dining area and the grounds are a wonderful place for Wedding parties or group get togethers.

Sincerely,
Mr & Mrs Hinton
Fremont, CA

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and great breakfasts included with the room
Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlandsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, CA+
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Thanks Doreen, Kirk and Anita for making our stay so wonderful. the accomodations are excellent, breakfast is scrumptous, and your kindness memorable. This is our second year staying at Arnold Black Bear Inn and we expect tp be back in 2009.

Thank you again,

MV/JB

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable and hospitable
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grappaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, Ca
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2008

This Lodge is nestled on the edge of a pine forest about 1/3 of a mile off highway 4 leading to Calaveras Big Trees State Park. My wife and I were looking for a beautiful, quite, and restful Inn. Black Bear met all of our expectations wonderfully. The building is spacious. We were amazed to find that, given its size, it contains only 5 guest rooms; all of them large and outfitted in a semi rustic pine-wood motif. The “lodge” is actually a bead and breakfast inn. The managing innkeepers, a husband and wife, were very warm and friendly. They serve wine, cheese, and other nibbles from 4:30-6:00 P.M.; breakfast was gourmet French-toast with fresh fruits, juices, coffee and tea. The main building is surrounded by lawns with walkways through them, about 1.3 acres. Go to the black bear website for more facility details. We were only able to stay one night, but wish we could have stayed for a week at least. We enjoy fine hotels and bead and breakfast Inns; we most highly recommended the Black Bear.

  • Liked — The facility and setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RWCLivermore_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

What a wonderful, peaceful, relaxing time we had in this beautiful facility! We had breakfast outside both mornings and truly enjoyed the sun on our backs and listening to the birds sing. In the afternoons, we enjoyed sitting in the swing, sipping our complimentary wine and admiring the nature surrounding the place. After dinner, the hot tub really hit the spot. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom is large with a walk in shower and jacuzzi tub. The decor as you walk in is quite lovely. Just can't ask for more! I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — I liked everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Keepsake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
1.7 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
10.0 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#2 of 2 in Arnold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.8 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Black Bear Inn

Property: Arnold Black Bear Inn
Address: 1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223
Region: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Sequoias, amazing scenery and quiet surroundings. You can experience all this and more year round at the only Bed & Breakfast in Arnold, California. The Black Bear Inn is a 5,200 square foot timber frame constructed inn on 1.3 acres in a park-like setting. Our five guest rooms have private baths, king beds, fireplaces, radiant heating and cooling, satellite television. Included in the room rate is a full, gourmet breakfast in the morning, and custom cheese trays & local wines each evening. Custom dinners also available upon request - call for menu options and pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arnold Black Bear Hotel Arnold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing