We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visitors love the Black Bear Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arnold Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Return visitors love the Black Bear Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have been returning to the Black Bear Inn for several years, as it is a beautiful facility run by excellent hosts. Bruce and Wendi are exceptionally hospitable, the rooms beautifully furnished, and the Sierra setting superb. We are returning soon for a special occasion with our extended family and, as always, we look forward to our visit.

Room Tip: Each of the 5 rooms is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry_ralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
283
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Generally we would prefer a good motel to a bed and breakfast, as we're not fond of the uncomfortable chumminess forced on us by proximity to other guests and sometimes chatty hosts at the breakfast table and in the living room. But then we stayed at the Black Bear Inn. This is an inn experience to savor. The building and grounds are stunning, tucked into the woods. The massive great room belongs in the Sierra Nevada, with its big beams and stone hearth and expansive chairs and couches. Rooms feature big cozy beds, a gas fire, and outdoor patios. Morning breakfast is substantial, cooked by the owner who is also a chef. In the early evening we were served a seriously good local wine and a lovely plate of domestic and imported cheeses. The wine I’d brought in my suitcase for the weekend went home untouched. We greeted other guests only because we wanted to—we could have enjoyed our wine privately in a corner of the living room. The hosts were unobtrusive but friendly, and once we thawed out a bit were happy to share their knowledge of the area and their own interesting histories—and make us reservations for dinner nearby.

We’ve stayed in Arnold in the past en route to points east, or for its location near Calaveras Big Trees. Now I’ll come JUST for the lodging experience. Yes it’s a splurge but staying here really turns a two night visit into a vacation.

Room Tip: One room is larger with a pullout couch, and has an ADA accessible bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC-OMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is not our first stay at Black Bear and it certainly will not be our last. This is a favorite destination of ours ever since our first stay for our 10th wedding anniversary. It's classy, clean, and just the right amount of privacy. Wendi and Bruce are always there if you need them, for that last minute reservation or just a recommendation on things to do that day.

What they lack in a "fitness center" is more than made up for in hiking trails, bike trails, or cross country skiing if they ever get any snow.

Right now, writing this review, I would much rather be on the couch in the grand room with some fine cheeses and a nice glass of wine. My wife and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms and they're all great with extremely large bathrooms. The farther you get from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berrydewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were suppose to stay in downtown Murphys, but a nice lady we met at Murphys suggested this B&B instead. She guaranteed me and my husband that this was a better choice. We've never been to Arnold so we were not sure what to expect. What a beauty!! We were greeted by a very gracious and friendly lady who happens to be the owner. Her name is Wendi. As soon as we checked-in and brought our bags to the room we did a bit of walking to the nearby shops. We came back not too long after to relax and unwind to a delightful plate of cheeses and wine. Wendi made dinner reservation for us at the nearby golf lodge which is supposedly open to the public on fridays and saturdays for dinner. It was a nice treat to be able to dine in this private golf resort. We came home after a fun day of exploring Angels Camp, Murphys and Arnold and slept extremely well in our very comfortable bed. We told Wendi that we will have our breakfast at 8:30. We overslept! That's how comfortable we were. Another surprise awaits us at the dining table for breakfast. Bruce is the Chef and Wendi's wonderful husband. The food he prepared looked like something out of a food magazine. It was so well presented. I did not want to touch it. Again, they didn't fail us. It was yummy and delicious. This was a memorable experience and I've already mentioned this to family and friends. We will DEFINITELY be back!! Bruce & Wendi, thank you for your hospitality and welcoming us to your beautiful home. Everything was excellent!

Room Tip: There are only 5 bedrooms. I'm sure all bedrooms are alike or similar to one another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeliBau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Enjoyed our stay immensely. Wished it were longer. The breakfast was perfect and plentiful. Took long walks among the trees at Calaveras big trees state park. Picked up fresh apple donuts at the apple stand on hwy 4. The hot tub outside was devine. Looking up at the stars. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmisssacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I had my birthday at this charming B&B and could not ask for more. Besides the beautifully appointed rooms with wonderful views and very, very nice bathrooms, besides a very nice simple but very elegant interior of the great room, proprietor’s attention to every detail made our stay and my birthday celebration very special. Wendi and Bill are wonderful hosts and are extremely easy to work with. They treated us like old friends and we and our friends felt as guest in a very warm home. Bill is a terrific chef and the delicious meal (and I am terribly picky) was beautifully served. It was a delightful experience and I am looking forward to going back. Thank you so much Wendi and Bill.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent and has it's own interior design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is a great spot to unwind, as we did, in the Sierras. Bruce and Wendie go out of their way to make sure you are welcome and that your time with them is restful. You must be sure and remain before dinner for their cheese and wine presentation; you will be amazed. Do not miss breakfast; the two of them serve each other to be sure that your meal is delicious and well presented. The presentation is spectacular. The spa and the Jacuzzi are excellent for a rest. The great hall is spectacular as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
1.7 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
10.0 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
16.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#2 of 2 in Arnold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
9.8 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Black Bear Inn

Property: Arnold Black Bear Inn
Address: 1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223
Region: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Sequoias, amazing scenery and quiet surroundings. You can experience all this and more year round at the only Bed & Breakfast in Arnold, California. The Black Bear Inn is a 5,200 square foot timber frame constructed inn on 1.3 acres in a park-like setting. Our five guest rooms have private baths, king beds, fireplaces, radiant heating and cooling, satellite television. Included in the room rate is a full, gourmet breakfast in the morning, and custom cheese trays & local wines each evening. Custom dinners also available upon request - call for menu options and pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arnold Black Bear Hotel Arnold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing