We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ah, the smell of fresh dairy products”

DOC Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Arroyo Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nostalgic ice cream parlor with super-premium ice creams made on-site daily. Model train circles the parlor.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ah, the smell of fresh dairy products”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Doc Burnstein's is located on Branch Avenue, the main street through the business district of the small town of Arroyo Grande, CA. When you enter Doc's you are immediately assailed by the heavy and sweet smells of fresh ice creams and other dairy products. There are many choices around the glass-enclosed ice cream cases, as in maybe 60 unusual flavors, many of which you probably haven't come across before, e.g., Motor Oil and/or Chocolate Banana.

Also, since many Arroyo Grande residents are dog fanatics, Doc's developed Dog Discs made from soy and tofu. It's actually good for a dog (they don't produce the sometimes-poor effects from standard dairy products on dogs' digestive systems).

Two legs or four, Doc's is a great place to visit when you're in Arroyo Grande!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    47
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For ice cream lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a must stop for ice cream lovers. Ice cream is made on site so they can make unusual flavors like Guiness ice cream and Elvis banana peanut butter explosion. Waffle cones & bowls are made there too. Delicious! If you love ice cream and are in the area stop in and try a scoop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BKawahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed but ice cream still OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

After an afternoon of winetasting at nearby wineries, a detour to Doc's seemed to be an ideal respite. After being denied our first two choices because they ran out, we settled on our third and fourth choices. They were none the less good and we licked to the very bottom of the dish. The ice creams were but we personally felt Birite in SF and Fosselman's in Alhambra were better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Surfpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yum!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The most amazing ice cream!!! Its been 4 days since i had their sea salt caramel and bittersweet chocolate ice cream and i miss it so much!!! I wish i lived closer, or maybe thats a good thing (i'd be there every single day!!!) It was so creamy and perfectly balanced with the sweetness and saltiness of the the sea salt caramel and the chocolate wasn't super sweet, it was perfect! Our whole family loved each flavor they chose. I wish they would open a place up down here in Orange, CA. Our plaza area would be a perfect fit for Doc's

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,354 helpful votes
“A Must Do When In Arroyo Grande”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

It's hard to put into words how good the ice cream is at Doc's. The creamy texture and fantastic flavor combinations are on point. The staff are the best anywhere, FUN FUN FUN place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank melsdad2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DOC Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to DOC Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing