We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food”

Jay Bharat Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 131 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Buena Park, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

good price to try great indian food at reasonable price. Also this place offers variety of takeout sweets.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amardeep Singh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting regional cuisine from India”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The food here (and the owners, I think) has a heavy Gujarati and Kathiyawadi influence. We liked most of the things we ordered.

Particular favorites / novelties were the bajra rotis and the kadhi. They also had the best kichdi in the LA area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent Food. Fast Friendly Service. Great Value!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The food here is always fresh and tasty. The prices are very reasonable and the service is friendly and quick. Try their mini Gujarati thali and you will go back again and again for just that!! The place also sells excellent snacks like kachori, ghatia and a whole range of Indian sweets and desserts. Its closed on Mondays.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PanditAnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as good as the hype”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

How rude.......we got there at 8.27pm to be told we had 3 minutes to order as they were closing (they state 9.00pm on the door). The food was rushed out and we really should have walked. The Uttappams were not fresh tasting at all.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jatin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
277 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A delicious, inexpensive food adventure.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We just ate at Jay Bharat and everything we ordered was delicious. They are known as a sweet and snack restaurant, and most of the things we ordered (and those I saw going to other tables) were trays with multiple small bowls of different foods with bread or rice on the side. We ordered a lot of different items, to share and try. It was fun to dip the breads into the sauces and curries, some very spicy and others not spicy at all. We particularly liked the flat cheese bread which was somehow soft with crispy edges. The sample plate of multiple samosas was great. I wish there had been photos of the different dishes, because we really could not tell exactly what we were ordering from the brief descriptions in the menu and ended up with several things that were almost alike. Since we were the only non Indians in the place, no one else really needed a visual guide. You order your food at a counter in the back, and they bring it to your table. You pay when you are done eating. I have no idea how they kept track of who ate what, because it was very busy and there was a steady flow of people going in and out. We ordered a ton of food and our bill only came to $33.00. It was great fun, like quick trip to Southern India without the long plane ride.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jay Bharat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jay Bharat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing