We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak house north of the grade”
Review of Guest House Grill

Guest House Grill
Ranked #2 of 90 Restaurants in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best steak house north of the grade”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great food, great service, atmosphere: rustic country ambiance. Salmon is great, good steaks & burgers

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danno8698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    64
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden restaraunt”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Guest House has a full bar and very nice outside dining. The menu is diverse and ranges from steaks to burgers. The pasta is always good and the prime rib is super.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorite place in town!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We love to come here to eat delicious food and meet with friends. The atmosphere is fun, we always sit on the patio and enjoy the beautiful afternoon/evening breezes. Never disappoints.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbnlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Guest House Grill is about what you would expect in an old country town. The interior is dark the porch (or deck) is kind of run down. There was a fire going in the fire pit on the patio that looked inviting, but I couldn’t manage the stairs going down. We split a grilled artichoke. The flavor was just smoky and paired with the chipotle aioli, it was really smoky tasting. We each had the chicken fried steak. The clam chowder starter was mostly large hunks of potatoes. The c.f. steak was very large and we should have ordered one to split. It was no better than average. Service was fine. The prices didn't seem too high. No complaints about the restaurant and no high praise. It is just an average small town grill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arniepalmerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Nice Atascadero Surprise”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This restaurant is tucked into the back corner of an older shopping plaza on El Camino on the southern end of Atascadero. We had not been aware of it until a friend from another town mentioned he'd been there and really liked it. It is a bit pricey for the area, but the food is well worth it. Every item we enjoyed was prepared with care and a bit of flair. We ordered meat loaf which came with a nice salad, a choice of fantastic cheesy scalloped potatoes, very fresh skinny green beans and really delicious meat loaf. House bread and a terrific pesto accompanied the meal. The service was prompt and very friendly. One can dine inside, or outside on a covered enclosed patio, or an open patio garden. We'll be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rosalindmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guest House Grill also viewed

Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Guest House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing