We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy to the tummy”
Review of Dan's Grub Shack

Dan's Grub Shack
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Atascadero
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Awesome grub at a reasonable price. May be listed as Dan's the Grub Shack.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy to the tummy”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Dans is a small local restaurant in the kmart shopping center. The food is delicious. If you like heat, order the bottle caps. Deep fried jalapeño slices served with ranch dressing. The hamburgers are the best you will get anywhere. The fries are always crisp and hot. There are also specialty sandwiches on the menu along with sides like Mac n cheese. If you are a frog leg fan this is your go to place. There is fish or calamari and chips, many salads, and a vegi sandwich.
We eat here regularly and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
625 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Mighty Fine Grub”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had the chicken club today. Wow! a perfect sandwich with everything in the perfect ratio. I mean the lettuce, tomato, sauce, bacon and a real nice piece of chicken make this sandwich wonderful It had been a while since I had been to Dan's and I think I better be coming back again soon. The service is prompt, polite, and unobtrusive. The place may just be a grub shack, but that is some mighty fine grub!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleySays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, good food, a pleasant dining experience”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The first time we visited, they were out of the fried okra... but this time, they had it! I love fried okra. Would have been better pan fried rather the deep fried, which is how they serve it, but I was happy to get it nonetheless. The fish and chips were also good (the fish batter was very thin, and that was good). The staff (wife of the "Dan") is super-friendly, the place appears clean, and they had a few televisions with sports playing... a nice little place with good parking too. We will come again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Supertrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and beyond.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I found Dan's via a Yelp search before leaving on a weekend trip to the Central Coast. Dan's Grub Shack kept coming of for "best of...". Not only did we end up eating here for both lunch and dinner the first day, but found the owner Dan and his wife, Laurie, to be most amazing company. Never have I felt so welcomed in an establishment teamed with extraordinary grub. The jalapeño bootle caps are a must. Not mentioned on the website are the"Danimal"(exquisite), Macaroni & Cheese bacon burger and other gems.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AmAHHHHzing!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Awesome menu with a variety!! Awesome staff! Resonably priced! I need to go more often!! Support a local business!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CamilleZinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dan's Grub Shack also viewed

Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Dan's Grub Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing