We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good down home food!”
Review of Dan's Grub Shack

Dan's Grub Shack
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Atascadero
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Awesome grub at a reasonable price. May be listed as Dan's the Grub Shack.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good down home food!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Not fancy but sooooo delicious! Special sandwiches are always good and their burgers are dripping with goodness:)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tepster09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burgers ever!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had one of the best burgers ever! It is a small place but so worth to wait! We had one of the best burgers ever!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel230468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great food!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Their menu features items you can't find elsewhere in the area (frog legs?) as well as a variety of more normal fare. I LOVE their Shannon's Chicken Salad which can be ordered with grilled chicken if fried isn't to your liking. Food is homey and cooked with care. Their staff is always inviting and friendly. Prices are in line with other similar restaurants in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auntie_LaLa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent food, better the first time I went”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was impressed with the fish and chips the first visit, back around 6 months ago. I went back to have more of the same. I am not sure if they bought different supplies, or different quality, but it tasted rubbery....I was bummed...I figured I had found the best fish in chips in town, now I am not so sure...Other than that, the place is good, a bit small, but services is always friendly, and the bill is payable...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphindude77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy to the tummy”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Dans is a small local restaurant in the kmart shopping center. The food is delicious. If you like heat, order the bottle caps. Deep fried jalapeño slices served with ranch dressing. The hamburgers are the best you will get anywhere. The fries are always crisp and hot. There are also specialty sandwiches on the menu along with sides like Mac n cheese. If you are a frog leg fan this is your go to place. There is fish or calamari and chips, many salads, and a vegi sandwich.
We eat here regularly and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dan's Grub Shack also viewed

Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Dan's Grub Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing