We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Europe along our Coast”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Wow - what a find. Thanks to all of you Trip Advisors out there, we decided to give this a try. What an amazing place. If we did not know we were not in Astascadero, I would have thought we were somewhere in Europe. Wonderful place, beautiful high-end rooms, comfy bed and a wonderful Bakery in the same building for breakfast. The breakfast can be hot or cold and great coffee. We would come again anytime and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
There are newer reviews for The Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

On our third visit to the Carlton, we found the staff to be friendly and very helpful, as always. The rooms are clean and well appointed, the decor is first class. The bathroom is particularly nice with a jacuzzi tub. We were on the third floor overlooking the courtyard, nice view, but still very quiet. We did not eat at the adjoining restaurant, Colby Jack's, but chose to grab a croissant at their bakery instead, it was very good. If you are looking for some old world charm, choose to stay at The Carlton, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wictor59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Staying at The Carlton Hotel in Atascadero, CA was a real lucky find for us because the hotel more than met our expectations for a high quality, comfortable hotel filled with lots of amenities and very friendly and sincere service.

The room was large, clean and had a very comfortable king-sized bed with lots of plump pillows. The bathroom was large and complete with a deep whirlpool soaking tub and separate shower. Oh, and there's lots of plush, thick towels to use and that's really nice coming from the whirlpool tub and shower. They also offer a Keurig coffee server system in the room, which I thought was a nice touch but at the same time they offered 'Coffee-Mate' non-dairy creamer (ick) and should have offered half 'n half. By the way, they have a small workout room and it contains some nice equipment such as weights, exercise bike and treadmill.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and look forward to coming back for a return visit sometime soon. We will surely recommend this hotel to our friends and family as a terrific place to stay on the Central Coast in California.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blkcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I have to confess I was a little concerned when I saw the hotel was right by the freeway exit. But my first impressions were rapidly replaced by the pleasant desk staff. It was raining when I arrived and they offered to park my car so my luggage and I wouldn't get wet. My room was very spacious, clean and well-appointed. After a 3-1/2 hour drive, whirlpool bath was perfect solution for my aching muscles. The bed was so comfortable, I fell asleep almost immediately. Another bonus? The windows actually open so I could get fresh air. As others have mentioned, there's no restaurant in the hotel, but Fig is right around the corner, perfect for a casual dinner. Perfect place to stay for a visit to the wine country.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildewood4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Clean, clean clean! deep soaking tub; softest linen I have ever slept on. Desk clerks so very helpful. New restaurant will be open soon. EZ access to all the wineries in Paso Robles area. Try the rooms off the upstairs plaza. Small workout room. Old historic 'Grandness'.... can't wait for our return visit. Wonderful place to celebrate our wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: All the rooms are so quiet; can't hear traffic. Three ballrooms would be PERFECT for wedding.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful. The bed really was like sleeping in a cloud. I did not want to get up!
The restaurant and bar is still not open but we had Sunday brunch at the establishment that is taking over the restaurant and it was terrific.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This hotel was an unexpected delight, we both thought it comparable to a nice Vegas hotel as far as decor and size.
Nice big marble bathroom with deep tub and walk in shower, unfortunately the restaurant was closed, but there is a nice wine bar a couple of doors down that serves good food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
9.5 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range: £97 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the Atascadero Arts District in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing