We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful choice!”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Lumber Bridge, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Wonderful choice!”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at this motel on a whim on our tour of California this month. It was a real treat! The hotel is elegant and extremely comfortable and clean. Everyone was super helpful and friendly, and the little town was quaint and interesting! The price was a huge surprise, five star hotel at two and a half star prices. I would recommend this place to anyone passing through or spending time. This place was a real pleasure and I'll be sure to stay if I come this way again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vintage King and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraandSonny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    100
    15
    13
    18
See reviews for
72
189
27
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Chose the Carlton based on reviews on TripAdvisor and Hotels.com, with the photos and descriptions. We had a perfect stay. The remodel has left an outstanding hotel, at least by our standards. We really enjoyed the decorations and furnishings. Our room was as nice as any high-priced hotel we have stayed at here in Las Vegas. The staff was amazing, especially Bianca. The housekeepers even provided these little comfy foot pads (ok, they looked like fine linen napkins, but they were nice to the touch getting out of bed). We weren't sure about that until we arose in the morning. There are plenty of eating options within walking distance and we completely enjoyed our stay. We were both glad to have chosen Atascadero versus Paso or SLO. The smaller town and friendlier, harder-working people everywhere we went really meant a lot to us. The wine country is all around. It was a perfect stay and we will return!

Room Tip: Ours on the top floor was awesome. There is a fire station down the street, so we could here sirens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSkies7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is a perfect hotel for a relaxing get-away for a night or weekend. The attention to detail is amazing and evident throughout the property. The rooms are spacious; the bed is sooo comfy; and the bathrooms are opulent with an awesome jaccuzzi bathtub. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are looking for a place to relax where you can count on good service, a spotless room, and a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent rooms/bathrooms. High end all around. No need to pay for upgraded rooms, as our least expensive room was exceptional. Only negatives are no free breakfast, no pool. In expensive Paso Robles area, can be a high-end bargain.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

Quiet, comfy hotel with remodeled rooms in Atascadero. Very different than any other local hotel - in an historic building, with great amenities. I think it's too expensive on weekends, but would likely stay again mid-week since those seem to be reasonable prices.

Rooms are large and nicely decorated. Lights in the bathroom are way too dim, but it is large and nicely done. Separate shower and a jetted tub!

Restaurant downstairs is in the process of changing hands , so only beer and wine. We didn't eat here, but it was crowded on anSaturday night with large and small groups.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MGA57GAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel was clean, quite and very pleasant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Also, the rooms are very large. I would recommend paying extra for an interior facing room. I did. the room was very quite. You might be just as well off requesting an exterior room facing east. Highway 101 is 200 yards (approx.) away from the West side of the hotel. You might experience road noise.
I had breakfast at the hotel one morning. The food was very inexpensive but not particularly good.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying extra for an interior facing room or request an exterior room facing east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I won't repeat what the other reviewers had to say about this hotel. They do a super job. Rooms are big, and clean. Everything works. The staff is great. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the Atascadero Arts District in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing