We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“lovely, very reasonable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lovely, very reasonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

If you're looking for a great place to stay while touring the wineries of Paso Robles, this is a fabulous hotel. It's ten miles from Paso, but it's so reasonable and the accomodations are fantastic. Big, well appointed room, with luxury bedding, and very quiet. I couldn't say more great things about it. For the price, it's well worth the 10 miles to drive. The staff are very accommodating and the atmosphere is so quaint and well kept. A definite must for a quick get-away from Los Angeles or surrounding areas without breaking the budget.

Room Tip: Love this hotel. Didn't get the 2nd bathrobe we requested, but it wasn't that important. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    95
    13
    11
    16
See reviews for
63
170
25
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Having been to Paso Robles 4 times in the last 3 months, we have had the opportunity to sample a few hotels, and the Carlton is the winner in our price range (the ~$200 per night set). It is an historic hotel that has been redone to a very modern high standard. The beds and linens are absolutely amazing (4 seasons level in my book). The staff is very helpful, and the restaurant is quite good. Downtown Paso Robles is about 15 minutes away by car, but you dont have to drive because the hotel is located in the historic Colony district of Atascadero, which has walkable restaurants and shops. What many first time visitors to Paso Robles don't realize is that most Paso Robles hotels are acutally along the 101 freeway with nothing to walk to. Granted, Downtown Paso Robles is only 5-10 minutes, but you always have to drive.

Room Tip: I recommend the courtyard King...zero street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarettms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Carlton Hotel while visiting the wineries in Paso Robles (less than 10 minutes away). The price caught our eye but the bed was the real treasure. I don't think I have ever had a night's sleep like that, it was a slice of heaven! The hotel also provides a complimentary breakfast -- anything off the menu in the restaurant downstairs which was delicious and plentiful. The hotel has been recently remodeled and the rooms are spacious and modern with nice touches. The staff was really helpful too, with suggestions for wine tours and then shippers to help with our winery purchases. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura County
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at The Carlton. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was large, nicely decorated and comfortable . The staff was professional and friendly. We enjoyed our breakfasts in Colby Jacks restaurant . The hotel is easily accessed from the freeway and is convenient to the many wineries in Paso Robles. Overall a pleasant experience.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TwoMacs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here to break up the drive from Monterey to San Diego, and the reviews were right - this really is a gem! There is absolutely nothing to do in Atascadero, so that's a downside, but if you're just passing through and want somewhere comfortable to stay, this is a fantastic spot. The rooms are extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was amazing. It had a big separate bathtub with jets :) There are keurig coffee makers in the rooms and it was just a very comfortable room overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda,
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Large comfortable rooms, clean newly refurbished and in a great location for wine tasting in the Paso Robles area! A wonderful find and great value for money. shame it didn't have a full bar as we were "wined out" by the end of the day and wanted a basic mixed drink!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHunton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here while visiting family. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were given breakfast vouchers and had breakfast at the hotel's restuarant. The breakfast was very good. We did not get vouchers for the weekend so we went down the street to a coffee shop called Bru. The breakfast there was wonderful- and the coffee was some of the best I have ever had! We had dinner at the hotel and it was delicious. I had the salmon and my husband had the steak- they also have a nice wine list and beer. I would definitely stay here again. Wonderful bathtub and lovely granite! Bed was great!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherylschwoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
9.5 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for one-of-a-kind hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing