We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Motel 6 Atascadero(Atascadero)
US$75
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vino Inn & Suites(Atascadero)
US$83
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$131
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Colony Inn(Atascadero)(Great Value!)
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$172
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Marriott Paso Robles(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmhouse Motel(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
305
116
21
14
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
116
21
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelpaso roblesjetted tubseparate showerrooms are largecity hallwine barold world charmwine countrycentral coastcoffee shopbrew pubwonderful bakerysmall townlovely hotelold schoolhigh end
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stay in quite a few hotels for my work (high end as well as your run of the mill Holiday Inn etc.) this is by far one of the best I have stayed at across the state, the word that describes it best is "plush", beds very comfortable, you sink in, jacuzzi tub, a robe, very very nicely done. I have stayed in places 3 times as expensive and they have not equaled the Carlton. If you are in the area don't stay anywhere else, treat yourself, oh and it includes a breakfast voucher at the restaurant or cafe, and it's your choice of what you eat. Looking forward to coming back next time I am down here for work!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yjones6621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My daughters and I stayed at the Carlton on our way down to Southern California. We were all thoroughly impressed by this lovely hotel - the beautiful spacious room, the bed, and particularly the large well appointed bathroom. The staff went our of their way to make us feel comfortable. The manager mentioned that we should stop on Highway 1 to see the seals at Piedras Blancas, an excellent suggestion that turned out to be a highlight of our trip. The price of our room was so reasonable and breakfast was even included. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We've stayed at the Carlton before...and returned. Been a few yers but it is still a perfect choice - actually even better than we recalled. Great rooms - well appointed and quite large for what feels more like a boutique hotel.

While you'll probably spend more time in Paso, the wineries or even the coast, the Carlton is well located and a great choice.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jhmvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

If you're looking for a great place to stay while touring the wineries of Paso Robles, this is a fabulous hotel. It's ten miles from Paso, but it's so reasonable and the accomodations are fantastic. Big, well appointed room, with luxury bedding, and very quiet. I couldn't say more great things about it. For the price, it's well worth the 10 miles to drive. The staff are very accommodating and the atmosphere is so quaint and well kept. A definite must for a quick get-away from Los Angeles or surrounding areas without breaking the budget.

Room Tip: Love this hotel. Didn't get the 2nd bathrobe we requested, but it wasn't that important. Everything was so comfortable it's hard to complain. We had a 3rd floor room but I doubt that any rooms are noisey as it's such a small, quiet town.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbrmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Having been to Paso Robles 4 times in the last 3 months, we have had the opportunity to sample a few hotels, and the Carlton is the winner in our price range (the ~$200 per night set). It is an historic hotel that has been redone to a very modern high standard. The beds and linens are absolutely amazing (4 seasons level in my book). The staff is very helpful, and the restaurant is quite good. Downtown Paso Robles is about 15 minutes away by car, but you dont have to drive because the hotel is located in the historic Colony district of Atascadero, which has walkable restaurants and shops. What many first time visitors to Paso Robles don't realize is that most Paso Robles hotels are acutally along the 101 freeway with nothing to walk to. Granted, Downtown Paso Robles is only 5-10 minutes, but you always have to drive.

Room Tip: I recommend the courtyard King...zero street noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarettms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews