We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value, close to everything”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, huge room/ bathroom with jacuzzi, perfectly clean- 10 min to scenic paso robles and wineries. Wish it had a pool and were a bit more chic- furniture was "Marshal's style", could have better preserved original character.
outstanding value overall. Would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

We checked in after dinner. It was a hot day--almost 100 degrees as the sun was setting. We turned the air conditioner up as high as it would go and waited. By the time we got into bed, we were still sweating. We tried to tough it out but between 12 and 1, we called the front desk to tell them about the problem. You immediately got the sense that they heard this complaint a lot. The woman said they would normally switch us to another room but they were full tonight so they couldn't switch us. We asked if they maybe had a fan we could use. No. Well maybe somebody from maintenance could come look at the air conditioner. She said they had no maintenance employees at night. We asked her what she thought we should do. She said, "There's nothing else to really do. I wouldn't even open your windows--it's even hotter out there." So that was very helpful.

A few minutes later we called and said we would just check out and go somewhere else. But the woman working the front desk wouldn't agree to refund our money. She said she had no authority to do that because she was not a manager. We suggested that she call the manager and she said she "refused" to do that because it was so late. This is a hotel. They have customers 24 hours a day. There should be a manager or someone with a manager's authority available at all times. Also perhaps a maintenance man. The response should not be, "We're sorry your $200 room is so uncomfortable. There's nothing we can do."

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanajalex, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Unfortunately, we had record breaking heat this weekend and with a full house our chillers could not handle the capacity. I do apologize that you had an unpleasant stay. It is mine and my staff's goal to make sure everyone has a pleasant stay. I hope that we have an opportunity to meet your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Was in Atascadero for three days work and stayed at the Carlton. Fantastic atmosphere in old school Hollywood decor.
Has the feel of an old classic hotel and the elegance of a castle. This is the place to stay in this town! Great craft beer brewery Molly Pitcher within walking distance

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

DId not get to stay her but the manager let me walk the halls and check out the space. As a freak about historic hotels, this one is not a disappointment. The attached rest. was fantastic with a cute quaint bakery next door. Service was fantastic and the staff was more than welcoming. The view of the rooms from just walking in and looking around was very appeasing and pleasurable.

Room Tip: Inside rooms give a pleasant view of the roof top garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We visit this area periodically for a little wine tasting and good meals - a quick getaway from LA. Unable to get a room at our usual hotel without booking two nights, we decided to stay at the Carlton for our one night visit. What a treasure! The room was absolutely lovely, the bathroom spectacular. This refurbished old hotel in the middle of quiet little Atascadero is a real find and we wished we had longer to stay and enjoy all the amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We love to visit the Paso Robles area and the Carlton is a new find. Its an older building that has gone through a wonderful renascence after it was renovated in the late 1990's. They have a good kitchen, Coffee bar as well as a bakery and it's right off the 101.

Room Tip: There is an outdoor terrace level, with a few too many pigeons for my taste, but it's a favorite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Beautiful entrance, great staff, large rooms and fantastic Four Seasons Style oversized bathrooms. One exit south of Paso Robles so super convenient to may wineries. I highly recommend this great hotel locations

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FritziinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Paso Robles Atascadero
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,523 reviews
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
7 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range: £95 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the Atascadero Arts District in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing