We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We just spent a night at The Carlton and it is an absolutely gorgeous hotel that has been remodeled but kept the original "old" feeling. Our room was huge, the bed very comfy, the hotel itself is quiet and just perfect for our weekend away. The only draw back is there is no restaurant and/or bar. Apparently there was but they have closed, which makes for a bit of an inconvenience. However, there are fabulous restaurants close by within walking distance.
We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling on the Central Coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jlw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    98
    15
    12
    17
See reviews for
68
180
27
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at The Carlton Hotel in July 2013 for 2 nights. The Carlton Hotel is in a historic building that was recently renovated with tasteful upgrades. We were greeted immediately by friendly staff and check in was quick. Our room was impecably clean, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. The room had a cozy king bed, overstuffed chair, and an armoire with an older TV. The room included a small refrig, Kurig coffee pods, wine glasses and cork screw adding to the convenience of our stay. The bathroom was gorgeous with marble floors, jacuzzi tub, separate shower with glass enclosure, and all the amenities were provided including a silky spa rob. The premesis was very quiet during our stay.
The one thing it was lacking is a restaurant. The hotel previously had a restaurant/bar on site but the business closed. The staff was helpful to suggest places to eat, but Atascadero is a very small town so the selections were minimal. A short drive to San Luis Obispo would be in order if you are seeking a variety of choices for evening food, wine and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumnKeiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Spacious historic hotel in Atascadero - near Outlets, Wine Country, Mid-State Fairgrounds. Went to stay with friends while visiting the local area. Very convenient. However, parking can be a challenge. Spa nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this historic hotel. It is completely remodeled and the staff and room was wonderful. They were very helpful and finding good places to eat which include Sylvester's and the Cowgirl.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
134 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, huge room/ bathroom with jacuzzi, perfectly clean- 10 min to scenic paso robles and wineries. Wish it had a pool and were a bit more chic- furniture was "Marshal's style", could have better preserved original character.
outstanding value overall. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We checked in after dinner. It was a hot day--almost 100 degrees as the sun was setting. We turned the air conditioner up as high as it would go and waited. By the time we got into bed, we were still sweating. We tried to tough it out but between 12 and 1, we called the front desk to tell them about the problem. You immediately got the sense that they heard this complaint a lot. The woman said they would normally switch us to another room but they were full tonight so they couldn't switch us. We asked if they maybe had a fan we could use. No. Well maybe somebody from maintenance could come look at the air conditioner. She said they had no maintenance employees at night. We asked her what she thought we should do. She said, "There's nothing else to really do. I wouldn't even open your windows--it's even hotter out there." So that was very helpful.

A few minutes later we called and said we would just check out and go somewhere else. But the woman working the front desk wouldn't agree to refund our money. She said she had no authority to do that because she was not a manager. We suggested that she call the manager and she said she "refused" to do that because it was so late. This is a hotel. They have customers 24 hours a day. There should be a manager or someone with a manager's authority available at all times. Also perhaps a maintenance man. The response should not be, "We're sorry your $200 room is so uncomfortable. There's nothing we can do."

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanajalex, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Unfortunately, we had record breaking heat this weekend and with a full house our chillers could not handle the capacity. I do apologize that you had an unpleasant stay. It is mine and my staff's goal to make sure everyone has a pleasant stay. I hope that we have an opportunity to meet your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Was in Atascadero for three days work and stayed at the Carlton. Fantastic atmosphere in old school Hollywood decor.
Has the feel of an old classic hotel and the elegance of a castle. This is the place to stay in this town! Great craft beer brewery Molly Pitcher within walking distance

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for one-of-a-kind hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing