We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Corona del Mar, California
2 reviews
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Came up to stay at the Carlton Hotel for a Valentines Day getaway and had a fantastic time. Our room was gorgeous inside, was very nicely decorated and with plenty of space to stretch out and enjoy. Despite coming up to enjoy the wine country and the fabulous area restaurants, it was hard to want to leave our room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. they made us feel right at home and gave us some excellent suggestions for local dining. We are going to make it a regular trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenDreyerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    97
    13
    11
    16
See reviews for
65
172
25
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
266 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We recently visited Atascadero CA and were pleasantly surprised by the charming antiquity of the downtown area.....not to be missed is a stay at the Carlton Hotel. It is a lovely place, has a historic kind of charm, but has been renovated to bring it to today's expectations while holding on to the look of yesteryear. It is a comfortable, quiet place with several nice choices close by for drinks and food.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or restaurant but several dining options nearby. The rooms are large, pleasantly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 182jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanajalex, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thanks so much for your positive review!! We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Deana Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My first review was placed at the wrong hotel. The above hotel is the correct one. Can you please fix the problem and place my original review with the correct hotel.

The above hotel as indicated in my original review did not provide a functioning restaurant and lounge as advertised. I deserve to be compensated for the false advertisement. This was the reason for my choosing this hotel in the first place.

Room Tip: Find a hotel that provides what they advertise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanajalex, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for your input and I apologize that you felt you were misled. It is never our intention to have a guest be disappointed with their stay at the Carlton. We strive to please everyone that walks through our front doors.

We do have a cafe/bakery on site that serves breakfast and lunch Wednesday through Sunday and also have 4 or 5 restaurants, bars, and wine tasting rooms within a very short walk of the hotel. One of the best restaurants in town, the Fig, is located right behind the hotel.

We are working hard to find a new tenant for our restaurant space and hope this will be accomplished in the near future. We know that we need this to maximize a guest’s stay.

Thanks again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Wow - please don't even think of staying here if you expect hotel or resort amenities and services. This establishment is not inexpensive - our room rate was well in the $200 range - plus they also charge a resort fee.....for what? So my biggest gripe here is that this is not a hotel any longer and should be reclassified as an Inn. The Carlton has no restaurant, no bar, no lobby services - as in luggage assistance - and there was no reply to a room service call. Also the basics of the coffee maker supplies were not completely replaced on our second morning and the toiletries provided were at a minimum.

On a positive note, the room we had was really lovely as was the bathroom. Clearly this was once a fine property, but much of the public areas are now closed off and no longer used. The staff were pleasant and offered basic information. There is an excellent bakery next door where you can have a nice breakfast or lunch. Also note that Atascadero does not have a great selection of restaurants so after a long day's drive you will be hard pressed to find a place for a nice evening meal. We were fortunate to come across a lovely little wine bar, which is just a few doors down from the Carlton, called the Aviator & Claw. Don't miss this gem as they have an excellent wine list and serve delicious small plates.

This was our first and last stay at the Carlton. It's just not okay to rank your establishment as a hotel when it can't meet expectations and ends up in a very disappointing experience for the guests.

Room Tip: If your'e just looking for a nice room with no other onsite services and want to pay a lot of mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PQ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanajalex, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear PQ11,

Thank you for your input. I'm sorry that we weren't able to make your stay everything you expected. Even though we don't have a lot of "extra" amenities, we think that our guest rooms are very luxurious and our guests can enjoy a relaxing soak in the jetted spa tubs that are in each guest bathroom if they are not out and about experiencing the wine country or other sights in the area.

We are actively seeking a tenant for our restaurant and lounge space as we realize that this is something that our guests expect and enjoy.

Again, I apologize that you were disappointed in your stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Wonderful experience! My partner and I were traveling with our 30 yo son with Down Syndrome and we found the Carlton welcoming and warm. We got a double courtyard balcony room. It was large and beautifully appointed. The beds were large and very comfortable. Lovely duvets and feather pillows on the beds. We loved the bathroom..it was clean with fluffy towels and a large jacuzzi and separate showers. The people who checked us in were friendly and very helpful in recommending a place to eat. We definitely recommend the Barrel next door to the Carlton for wine tasting and The Fig, next door to the barrel for dinner. My partner and I like to think we are very discriminating in our tastes and we found The Fig exceeded our expectations. Beautiful area and great people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inanna51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanajalex, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thanks so much for your positive review!! I also spoke to the owners of the Barrel Room and the Fig and let them know you enjoyed having those places to visit while staying at the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Deana Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at the Carlton hotel in Atascadera, California from March 20th to March 23rd. My reason for picking this hotel above the rest, thou more expensive, was that it advertised a welcoming onsite restaurant and lounge. This was not the case. Both rest/lounge were closed for business and had been, per some locals and an employee, for sometime. Nothing in the internet site indicated such. When I asked about the closed establishments to a woman, who appeared to manage the hotel, she simply stated "sometimes we're open and sometimes we're closed. It all depends on who rents the place". No apology was offered at any time for the inconvenience and my disappointment. I feel that I should be compensated for this grouse misrepresentation of your hotel. Please make it right. My name is Daniel Medina and my email is dandanmedina@aol.com

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The outside of the hotel looks very nice. The room we were first given looked nice, but there was no air flow. The thermostat wasn't working. The front desk suggested that we open the window for air, which wasn't an option, as we didn't want to hear the constant noise of the traffic. The second room we were given (we had to move all of our luggage, fridge, and toiletries) was at 10:00 p.m. The room was smaller, which would have been ok, but the bed was extremely lumpy. The well was so deep, that I woke up with a backache both mornings. (we were there for 2 nights). I personally couldn't wait to leave, even though it was our 38th anniversary celebration. WE told the front desk how upset we were with our stay, and they suggested we let the manager know. I wrote the manager a letter, and haven't heard one word back. We felt that we should have been compensated monetarily for our inconvenience. I would never return to this hotel. Be AWARE ! ! !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanajalex, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Vivian,

I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy your stay at the Carlton Hotel. I also would like to apologize for not responding to you but I never received your letter.

It is our goal to have every guest that walks in the front door enjoy their stay. We will work on the issues that you brought to our attention so that we don't have this happen again.

Thank you.

Deana Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
10.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for one-of-a-kind hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing