We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old luxury feel - fabulous bath!”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old luxury feel - fabulous bath!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Even in the standard room, one had the sense of "old Hollywood" with the beautiful period reproduction furniture & upscale fabrics. Well designed built-in cupboard for the coffee maker along with china cups, a very comfortable bed and a hanging tapestry added much to the ambiance. BUT, my favorite amenity was the fabulous marble tiled bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower, large vanity, pocket doors to separate toilet room, more built-in shelves for towels - it was just heavenly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juneandwalter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    100
    15
    13
    18
See reviews for
72
189
27
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was fortunate to enjoy yet another stay at The Carlton for several days during mid-May, and once again was reminded why I keep coming back. The staff is always very friendly and helpful with every detail. The room is very comfortable, the bed the most comfy I've ever found while traveling. Internet access (a "must" for me) is excellent (both wireless and LAN are available). Very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: If possible, I recommend The Carlton Suite, even if only for a day or two of your visit. Very luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durrwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Bakery Review: (I haven't stay at the Hotel) “Carlton Cafe and Bakery” Very good Coffee, Fresh European baked goods & breads that are prepared and baked in the Bakery on the first floor of the Carlton Hotel to the right of the Hotel entrance. (The restaurant to the left of the entrance is not open at this time) the Bakery has breakfast and lunch (I believe Bakery is closed on Monday and Tuesday?) I’m becoming a regular, nice Art store around the block on Traffic Way called “The Artery”. The Baker also hosts Tango (Argentine) Milongas: Third Saturday of the month, 8:00-midnight 6005 El Camino Real, no cover.

Room Tip: I haven't stay at the Hotel but heard that Ringo Star-Beatles stayed there because of good secur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slowroads.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Loved, loved, loved this hotel. Front desk was friendly and upbeat. Hotel was beautiful. The room was amazing. Jetted tub was wonderful and so nice after a long car ride. The king size bed was so comfy made for a wonderful nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N7057DAKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Historic property in downtown Atascadero beautifully renovated. Large, nicely appointed rooms with quality linens...very elegant and comfortable. Near wine country and central coast beaches. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lrk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Loved the hotel. Know beforehand it's in a sleepy little town. That, to me, was the best part about it! Incrediable sheets, and understated luxury. It's a boutique hotel that has been " misplaced.". A gem! There's a movie theater nearby, and best of all a massage place that incorporates wine. We ate at Guest House Restaurant down the road, and that was pretty good. Barrel Room offers wine tasting, and next door is a wine bar. Sadly, the hotel's restaurant is closed, but their cafe is open. It's a lovely hotel, with attention to detail. So glad we stayed there!

Room Tip: Back room, away from Fwy 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Came up to stay at the Carlton Hotel for a Valentines Day getaway and had a fantastic time. Our room was gorgeous inside, was very nicely decorated and with plenty of space to stretch out and enjoy. Despite coming up to enjoy the wine country and the fabulous area restaurants, it was hard to want to leave our room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. they made us feel right at home and gave us some excellent suggestions for local dining. We are going to make it a regular trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenDreyerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the Atascadero Arts District in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing