We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic luxury getaway at the Carlton”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed our 2nd time at The Carlton Hotel for Valentines weekend. We always enjoy this boutique luxury hotel in downtown Atascadero. The rooms are VERY roomy, and include spa tubs. The hotel is decorated in a Tuscan style. The hotel restaurant just reopened September 2009, for breakfast, lunch, and sushi. Atascadero is in the middle of a streetscape beautification project, across from the hotel that is improving downtown. While you are staying at the hotel, gown down El Camino to the Guest House Grill, which was opened by a couple Cal Poly SLO graduates and has great, high quality food for reasonable prices, and includes indoor and patio dining. It is in the Spencers Market Center south of Curbaril Ave. The bar at the Carlton is usually pretty busy evenings & a great place to hang out & listen to live music nightly, and have a drink with local wines. There is a spa and also a bakery cafe next door to the cafe, and on the corner an awesome hamburger place that also has patio dining. The hotel has several large rooms for conferences, meetings and events. The hotel was built in 1929 & reopened in 2005 completely rebuilt and restored, sparing no expense. Check the website for room rates & events like comedy shows. http://www.the-carlton.com/

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOTHERLOAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for The Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2009

We travel to the Paso Robles area a couple of times a year for wine tasting. We had trouble finding a room in Paso on short notice so we tried the Carlton. What a wonderful treat. Great rooms, friendly service and a fantastic price. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoronaScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I can't say enough about the Carlton Hotel...I always stay in higher class hotels & this was the top of the class.
The location is perfect for wine tasting or going out in San Luis Obispo.
The hotel stay went above & beyond the call of duty.
The restaurant was superb - happy hour & live music at the lounge was a blast.
They spared no expenses on the rooms - I highly recommned the 2nd floor courtyard suites.
On site GM Deana Alexander has everyone on staff dialed in to make sure I was well attended.
My wife & I are planning to spend our anniversary at The Carlton while wine tasting in Paso Robles.
You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattSmalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Our son and daughter-in-law reserved the entire hotel for the weekend of their wedding at the Ranch in Santa Margarita. The staff was so friendly and accommodating we couldn't have asked for anything more. The rooms, bedding, coffee etc. were all Five Star. Every guest was so complimentary and pleased with their accommodations. We needed some wine chilled to take to the rehearsal dinner and the front desk sent up a bar tender to our room, picked up the wine and used their refrigerator to chill it. The hotel also let our guests use the 2nd floor patio for a wine reception the night before the wedding. We can't say enough good things about the hotel, management, staff, food, service, etc. We will definitely stay at the Carlton the next time we are up in Atascadero.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leitrim012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

The Carlton offers more ammenities than I had time to enjoy....including the in-house restaurant which I understand uses a wood-burning stove for their pizzas. My room was lovely with luxurious bed linens and a very spacious room and bathroom with bathrobes. Most importantly, the staff was very helpful and friendly and my room was immaculate!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We booked nearly the entire hotel for our daughter's wedding. First of all, I was very happy with the group rate I was given by the hotel's manager (Christine). The wedding was fabulous and staying at the Carlton with all of our family and friends for the weekend made it complete. Everyone commented on how much they loved the hotel and everything it had to offer. The beds were so comfortable, great bathrooms, and staff extremely accommodating. I know staying at The Carlton enhanced the entire wedding experience. Several of our guests said they wanted to return. Terrific find! Thanks Christine.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovinLife_LovinYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here at the end of June for a weekend while visiting friends nearby. We were very impressed. It is a lovely hotel. Our room was very nicely decorated and we had a comfy king-size bed. We had dinner at the restaurant downstairs and it was delicious. The lounge was great, too. There was entertainment on the weekends which was a nice surprise. We drove to local wineries and visited Hearst Castle as well. If you're in the area it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
9.5 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range: £97 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the Atascadero Arts District in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing