We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Atascadero”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Gem in Atascadero”
Reviewed 31 December 2009

I stayed for one night, I'm a hotel meeting planner, BS degree in Hotel Management. For what my background may be worth, this renovated hotel was a outstanding place to spend time in. The hotel easily could fetch $250 or more per night if the economy was different or location was a major city - no matter. I strongly suggest anyone that normally stays in Paso Robles, stay 10 min south at the Carlton in Atascadero and be treated to a very lush facility, marble, fine woodwork detail in bathrooms, fine fixtures, elegant down bedding, turkish cotton towels. Trush me & happy travels.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradtheExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    100
    15
    13
    18
See reviews for
72
190
27
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

The 50th anniversary party, family reunion, and romantic getaway was going so perfect until we checked out of the Carlton Hotel. This hotel was making for a 100% perfect stay and an unforgettable weekend getaway. Then we walked to our $60k sports car and saw what came to be over $1000 in damages that were caused to the front end of a the car. The parking is HORRIBLE. There are 3 places to park: Parallel parking on the city street (if you don't get a ticket), parking across the street in a very small lot, or behind the building in a city parking in an alley with no lights or cameras! The hotel clams no responsibilities for any damages. If the Hotel Manager wasn't outside at the time having a smoke when my car was hit she also admits that the person probably wouldn't have left a note (that I still had to have the local police track the person down). BTW, Police in this town are great! Needless to say, I spent the entire last day tracking down the person, dealing with insurance companies and the other guest's rental car company.

When we went to speak to the hotel manager on duty, it took 30 minutes for her to get off a phone call to see us so I could report the incident. She did nothing to help, but to say "I saw the incident and sorry we assume no responsibility". What about, can we contact the police for you, can we help you find the guest, can we help with anything, can we get you a drink, or extra night on us while you deal with the mess you need to clean up that took place on our property and wouldn't have happened if you didn't stay with us. Nothing, the hotel did, absolutely nothing!

It's over a month later and it has already cost me over $600 out my own pocket in expenses that are not covered by insurance. The car isn't fixed and the other guest went back to New Jersey. Thank you Carlton Hotel for a truly UNFORGETTABLE stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wkrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

We were just travelling through from San Francisco to San Diego and needed a place to stop for the night. We were in the Paso Robles - San Luis Obispo area and decided to turn off to check out this hotel because it had a couple of advertisements on highway billboards on southbound 101. We were expecting a simple Motel 6 type facility. Were we surprised! This place is an oasis.

Built in the 1920's and rebuilt a few years ago, this place blends old world charm (high ceilings, dramatic stairways, huge lounge fireplaces, period furniture, and classic carpets) with modern high tech (granite bathrooms with quiet whirlpool baths, clear glass shower enclores, and toilets in seperate rooms complete with wall phones).

The restaurant and bar downstairs are convenient; the service we found excellent, and the food and beer both interesting and delicious.

It is conveniently located in Atascadero, just one block from the 101 freeway. We found the area very quiet.

It is rated a 4 star hotel and is recommended by hotel and travel magazines. The best part was the price. At just around $100, this is a tremendous value. This place was even nicer than the boutique hotel we stayed at in San Francisco and the alpine chalet we stayed at in Lake Tahoe on this trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed our 2nd time at The Carlton Hotel for Valentines weekend. We always enjoy this boutique luxury hotel in downtown Atascadero. The rooms are VERY roomy, and include spa tubs. The hotel is decorated in a Tuscan style. The hotel restaurant just reopened September 2009, for breakfast, lunch, and sushi. Atascadero is in the middle of a streetscape beautification project, across from the hotel that is improving downtown. While you are staying at the hotel, gown down El Camino to the Guest House Grill, which was opened by a couple Cal Poly SLO graduates and has great, high quality food for reasonable prices, and includes indoor and patio dining. It is in the Spencers Market Center south of Curbaril Ave. The bar at the Carlton is usually pretty busy evenings & a great place to hang out & listen to live music nightly, and have a drink with local wines. There is a spa and also a bakery cafe next door to the cafe, and on the corner an awesome hamburger place that also has patio dining. The hotel has several large rooms for conferences, meetings and events. The hotel was built in 1929 & reopened in 2005 completely rebuilt and restored, sparing no expense. Check the website for room rates & events like comedy shows. http://www.the-carlton.com/

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOTHERLOAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, Ca
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We travel to the Paso Robles area a couple of times a year for wine tasting. We had trouble finding a room in Paso on short notice so we tried the Carlton. What a wonderful treat. Great rooms, friendly service and a fantastic price. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoronaScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I can't say enough about the Carlton Hotel...I always stay in higher class hotels & this was the top of the class.
The location is perfect for wine tasting or going out in San Luis Obispo.
The hotel stay went above & beyond the call of duty.
The restaurant was superb - happy hour & live music at the lounge was a blast.
They spared no expenses on the rooms - I highly recommned the 2nd floor courtyard suites.
On site GM Deana Alexander has everyone on staff dialed in to make sure I was well attended.
My wife & I are planning to spend our anniversary at The Carlton while wine tasting in Paso Robles.
You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattSmalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Our son and daughter-in-law reserved the entire hotel for the weekend of their wedding at the Ranch in Santa Margarita. The staff was so friendly and accommodating we couldn't have asked for anything more. The rooms, bedding, coffee etc. were all Five Star. Every guest was so complimentary and pleased with their accommodations. We needed some wine chilled to take to the rehearsal dinner and the front desk sent up a bar tender to our room, picked up the wine and used their refrigerator to chill it. The hotel also let our guests use the 2nd floor patio for a wine reception the night before the wedding. We can't say enough good things about the hotel, management, staff, food, service, etc. We will definitely stay at the Carlton the next time we are up in Atascadero.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leitrim012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
9.5 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the Atascadero Arts District in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing