We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
SUN VALLEY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

My friend in Burbank Calif recommended this hotel to me and it was everything she said it would be. The room was absolutely gorgeous and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mocorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    98
    15
    12
    17
See reviews for
68
180
25
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

What a marvelous surprise we discovered in this hotel! The community space as well as the private rooms are wonderfully restored and updated with today’s conveniences. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The restaurant and bar, we were told, will be reopening in approximately 1 month. This presented no problem for us as Paso Robles has fine restaurants and is only 10 minutes away. If you are going to Paso Robles for wine tasting exploration, do your self a favor and book a room at this hotel.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scooter123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

The Carlton is a nice hotel close by to the Paso wine area. The rooms, especially the large bathrooms, are very comfortable and inviting. Loved the shower and the tub with spa jets (although our jets were broken this time). Great way to relax with a glass of wine (we brought our own) at the end of the day. We stayed once before in February and the rates were a bit cheaper, probably due to the season. It doesn't bother us that the restaurant is closed since we usually eat dinner at Artisan in downtown Paso Robles every time we visit. We even forgot something in our room that we didn't even realize and the hotel called us a few days later to figure out how to get it back to us. With the current rate, we might consider a B & B in the Paso area next time that includes breakfast, but most of them require a 2 night weekend stay, so the Carlton is a great option for staying 1 night on the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalBeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

I just stayed at the Carlton for the second time this past weekend. I go up to go wine tasting in the Paso Robles area and I love this place. It is a total bargain for the quality of the rooms decor and service. Frette linens and towels, wonderful beds, huge marble bathrooms with oversize jacuzzi tubs, super quiet, and I sleep like a rock. I really cant say enough. It is an old building from the 1920's and I heard it was overhauled in the past few years. It is just minutes from some of the top wineries in Paso Robles, so if you are planning a trip there for wine tasting or work, I would highly recommend this hotel. The only drawback is the restaurant is currently closed- so plan ahead if you need, but when we checked in, the front desk did offer wine and drinks if we needed, but we go out for dinners when we are up there anyway.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
226 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

The hotel is historic and the rooms are well-appointed and updated. The room was spacious, bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was large and modern. The robes from the TCH (Telegraph Hill Club) was a nice touch. This hotel was better than some 4 and 5 star hotels I've stayed at in other countries. It was a nice surprise!

The fitness center was small and had a only a couple of bikes and treadmills. The bar was surprisingly quiet and not crowded. The restaurant in the hotel served good quality food, but the cuisine was nothing out of the ordinary.

It's a great location if you want to go wine tasting in area. We drove to Paso Robles for dinner which was just 10-15 minutes north of the hotel. We ate breakfast close to the hotel - all were driving distance from the hotel, as there was not many choices within walking distance. There's a parking lot right by the hotel (no fee).

I definitely would come back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelgalCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

We have been visiting family in Atascadero for a long time and have stayed in almost every hotel. The Carlton offers the best value for your money. We got our room for the same price as the Best Western Colony Inn and it is a far better experience. It is no secret the property is having financial problems - the restaurant was closed by the tax man - but it did not diminish the quality of the room, the level of service, or the attitude of the employees.

Our room (205) was nice and large and I found the beds to be very comfortable. I have to get one of their mattress pads. The good sized bathroom had a shower, a spa tub, and plenty of towels. There was free wifi and ample free parking. The freeway is right there and the wineries are not far away. Have a picnic out at the Justin Winery in Paso.

I would definitely stay at The Carlton again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chug_in_OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed this hotel in December 09 when we visited wineries in Paso Robles. Parking is in the back of the hotel, but it's public parking. We had no problem finding a parking spot due to off season, but it could be a problem during peak season. First, we were assigned to Room 206. It's a corner room so nice and spacious. However, we had to move because the heater didn't work and a small heater they brought over stopped working after a half hour. They moved us to room 207. This room was much smaller, no work desk nor table/chairs. It was noisy as it's in front of ice machine and housekeeping room. We didn't see any other guests staying here, so I was hoping they could give us a better room. But we did't want to move again, so we just stayed in 207.
There was supposed to be a bakery but we were told it's close now. Next day, we went out to visit wineries and came back to the hotel around 4pm, and found that the room wasn't cleaned. When I called the front desk, a manager and housekeeping staff promptly showed up and apologized. The manager the night before did not notify other staff that we moved to a different room. The room was cleaned while we hang out at the bar. This manager was very attentive and he checked on us next morning to make sure everything was okay.

It's a charming hotel with good value. Room decoration and bathroom was very nice. I love the big bathtub. All wineries are about 15 minutes drives from this hotel. Most of good restaurants around here are in downtown Paso Robles. If you don't mind driving, I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juno27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for one-of-a-kind hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing