We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The overall experience was wonderful. The staff was very pleasant and the beds are very comfortable. My only concern was the cleanliness of the bed my daughter slept in. She said it smelled like beer and the sheets had stains on them, luckily she brought her own pillow and blankets. She slept on top of the bed. I wouldn't hold this against the whole experience because for the most part everything except this was above average. Need to keep a closer eye on the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Cathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent visit. Situations as you have described are not typical at this hotel nor are they acceptable for our guests. We will address these matters immediately with our staff and appreciate that you have brought them to our attention.

We appreciate your business and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel many times. The staff is always personable and helpful; the rooms clean and nicely appointed.
The room rates are reasonable, far more so than other hotels in the area.
We will continue to stay at the colony inn as long as they continue to maintain their high standards.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comment! We certainly appreciate having you as our guest and strive to continuously serve you with only the highest standards in mind. We hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Wish we had more time to enjoy what this hotel had to offer. The room was clean and quiet. We had a poolside room. Just didn't have time to use the pool or eat the free breakfast. The lobby was being remodeled. Plenty of parking. Good places to eat nearby. We had breakfast at A-town diner. Very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

We truly appreciate your business, and we're grateful for the trust you've placed in us. We hope to have the pleasure of doing business with you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Many individuals, such as myself, have to drive through and to the central cost.. For us it is not the experience of a lifetime, but is a place to rest our heads. The Colony provides simple, clean rooms with some amenities you might expect to be in a higher priced setting. Our room is usually not very far from where we park, swim in the pool, weight lifting, spa, you name it. Nothing fancy for breakfast but it is normally fresh and healthy. The trendy, high priced places are nice to go to once but this is a place to keep coming back to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are delighted to hear such fabulous comments! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the Zinfandel Festival week-end in Paso Robles, Ca. Since the best western there was quite a bit more expensive we decided to go with this nice affordable location only 8 miles from Paso Robles. And we are glad we did! Very friendly, accomodating staff, pleasant room, and extra facilities such as the pool and jacuzzi also nice & relaxing. We will definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear such wonderful comments about our staff, service and property. Please come back and visit us soon!

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a very convenient hotel for tourists or business people. It is a few steps from the boutiques and restaurants. Across the street there is a very good café that has lunch and dinner. To go to the beach you will need to drive but there is also the bay a few blocks from the hotel where the seals stay. The hotel needs carpet to be changed. Don't forget your sleeps to use in the room if you don't like that feeling of walking on a carpet that is sticky. The continental breakfast has the worst omelets ever I ate in a Best Western. In California. If you are not a big fun of Continental breakfast you are ok. You can also go across the street. In general, I love the convenience of this hotel for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Claudia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent visit. Situations as you have described are not typical at this hotel nor are they acceptable for our guests. We will address these matters immediately with our staff and appreciate that you have brought them to our attention.

We appreciate your business and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A great value for the area. Easy and quick access to the shops and restaurants of San Luis Obispo and the wineries of Paso Robles, without the cost of either location. The staff was super friendly and most welcoming. The breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruit. Even though it was close to HWY 101, it was very quiet. Our room was neat and clean and even had a small microwave and refrigerator! Since our daughter now lives in the area, we will be making several trips here and this will be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Have only stayed once, but our room was towards the back on the 2nd floor and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comment! We certainly appreciate having you as our guest and strive to continuously serve you with only the highest standards in mind. We hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
1.3 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#1 of 7 in Atascadero
444 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Paso Robles Atascadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
946 reviews
10.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Colony Inn

Address: 3600 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-2554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range: £67 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect place to stay on California's Central Coast. Located in Atascadero, CA and surrounded by the special charm and excitement of Paso Robles Wine Country, BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect location for wine tasting, bike riding, golf, visiting the historic missions, family outings, and hiking. Motorcycle enthuses enjoy traveling the spectacular coastline leading to the Pacific Ocean where you will enjoy Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Harbor and quaint seaside shops, all minutes from the newly refreshed BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, Atascadero California. Hotel guests enjoy a fully appointed health club, Kennedy Club Fitness Center, which includes workout equipment, basketball courts, racquet ball courts, an Olympic size swimming pool, yoga and zumba classes and more. BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn welcomes you to the Central Coast for family fun, a romantic get-away, business meetings and wine tasting! Corporate, military, AAA and senior rates are always available. Visit our calendar of events for attractions and events in San Luis Obispo County such Hot El Camino Nights & Car Show, The California Mid State Fair, The Tamale Festival, Paso Robles Wine Festival and Vine Street Showcase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Colony Hotel Atascadero
Best Western Atascadero
Atascadero Best Western
Best Western Colony Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing