We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Carlton Hotel(Atascadero)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vino Inn & Suites(Atascadero)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Atascadero(Atascadero)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmhouse Motel(Paso Robles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
250
194
59
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
194
59
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflespaso roblesbreakfast roomfitness centerbaconclean roomsnice hotelwine tastingbest westernswould stay againconvenient locationfresh fruitdecent breakfastmicrowave and refrigeratorgreat pricenice staypool and hot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Nice comfortable place to say. Good reception on wifi, and the amenities are great. Nice pool area with plenty of room to sit. The breakfast was O.K. for what Hotels put out these days, but not the type if you are looking for a big hearty breakfast. However there is a group of us that do a reunion in that area every year, and we always like to stay at tis Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We appreciate your comments and are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Hotel was prepared to accommodate many people that were doing the WildFlower Bike Ride. On Saturday and Sunday They opened the Breakfast area 30 minutes earlier to accommodate our Starting Times (Times were staggered).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Xavier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our family of 4 stopped at this Best Western in Atascadero on our way to San Jose. It is a basic Best Western, but a good value for the AAA price we paid. We decided to break up our drive and spend the night here, rather than arrive in San Jose late and pay for a more expensive hotel. The lady at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and functional. The breakfast was minimal, but it served its purpose of putting something in our bellies before getting back on the road ... and it was free. I had a waffle, my husband had a little scrambled "egg round", and we both had a sausage (kind of greasy). I was not expecting much, and was satisfied with what we got. There was cereal, some bran muffins, juice, coffee. Minimal, but decent. The reason that I gave this place a "Very Good" is that it is a very good value. It was 3 more hours to San Jose, where the hotels are twice the price, so why not break up the drive, spend the first night in Atascadero, and then arrive in San Jose the next morning?

Our room quiet. There is a little courtyard in the middle with a swimming pool. It was being renovated, but the front desk lady said we could use the pool at gym nearby if we wanted to. We didn't though, because we just wanted to get some food and veg after a long car-ride. The town of Atascadero is little. I was a bit nervous looking for a place to eat dinner, beause my girls are picky. The front desk lady recommended a restaurant, but we did not want a heavy meal. We picked Que Pasa down the road, and it was very good! Coming fron San Diego, we are picky about Mexican food. Que Pasa was clean, and the food was tasty and plentiful. Great service too!

I would definitely recommend the Best Western in Atascadero if you are making the northern to southern California drive or as an alternative to the Paso Robles more costly motels and hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We truly appreciate your business, and we're grateful for the trust you've placed in us. We hope to have the pleasure of doing business with you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We took a short trip down to San Luis Obispo and Atascadero and chose to stay at the latter location. Staying at the BW Colony Inn was a great choice. It is conveniently located right off the freeway( but we did not hear any traffic noise even while lying by the pool).
All the staff, from front desk to all workers we encountered were very pleasant.
Our room was on the lower level with a sliding door out to the pool area. It was awesome being able to just walk out our patio and walking a few yards to the pool and hot tub. It was not crowded at all and there are many lounges and tables around the well kept pool area. The hot tub was nice and hot, (unlike many we have found to be more on the warm side) a great way to begin and end each day.
We did not regret staying here instead of SLO as it is a short, easy drive into there and down to Pismo- not bad at all.
When coming back to the area, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: try to get a room on pool level facing the pool
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear such wonderful comments about our staff, service and property. Please come back and visit us soon!

Sincerely,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Compared to the other hotels in the area, The Best Western has the best value. friendly staff, great service, wonderful rooms. When visiting my granddaughter and great grandchildren, my husband and I will always stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comment! We certainly appreciate having you as our guest and strive to continuously serve you with only the highest standards in mind. We hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,

Pam Lyon
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews