We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Colony Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
“Best Western Colony Inn”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is THE hotel to stay at in the Atascadero, CA area. The staff shows a caring attitude, the breakfast food is fresh and replenished when low. The grounds are kept tidy. Just a GREAT overall experience, especially when the front desk remembers you from a visit 14 months ago and gives you the same room to keep an eye on your motorcycle. Room 202 by the way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geof F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Outstanding! Thank you!! I'm pleased to know that you had a great stay. We welcome motorcycle enthusiasts from all over the world. In fact we host a series of European motorcycle groups each year, so we've grown appreciative of motorcycle travelers value & needs.
We hope to see you back sooner than 14 months, but you are always welcome whenever the road brings you to our door. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    188
    53
    21
    8
See reviews for
182
151
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Colony Inn Atascadero is a neat and tidy Best Western, perfect for visiting San Louis Obispo, Morro Bay area. The staff members are courteous. The pool area and property are well cared for. We would unquestionably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geof F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your remarks. Your experience is what we strive for and a reminder that we must continuously work to maintain your comfort & loyalty. I hope we'll see you again in the future. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Booked for our family reunion just days before departure. This hotel served my children and me practically perfectly! If our family reunion is in the area in three years again, I will for sure consider returning! Overall experience rating = A. Hurray!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank T6712ZSmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geof F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. The staff works very hard to achieve the results you experienced, and I'm pleased you had an "A" stay. We hope your family reunion will return to the area in future years and we'll be able to satisfy your needs. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a clean, friendly, nicely appointed hotel for the money. Our stay was pleasant, and the staff was very attentive. The most important thing was it was quiet. We will definitely return when we are in this region.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geof F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
WOW! Thanks for the great comments!! We will continue to work to keep your loyalty and provide you with comfortable accommodations & great value. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stopped here for an overnight stay on our road trip. The lobby was being redone so there was nothing in the lobby except the reception desk. Our room was on the 3rd floor and luckly they had luggage racks and an elevator - while we did not have a lot of luggage, we did not want to leave much in the car either. Room was very clean and comfortable - shower very nice after a long day driving. Problem - no internet service even though it is advertised. Breakfast was okay - prepared omlet (nice touch!) was cold, and one of the waffle irons did not work. Only a few tables and it is very crowded so hard to go back to get food. Hopefully once renovations are complete, there may be more room for the breakfast area!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Corinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geof F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our room accommodations. I am sincerely sorry for the negative experience with our wifi. I am sharing your comments with our internet support company to better address the concern. I might add that we are in the process of significantly upgrading our wifi service to better serve our guests.
I certainly appreciate your concerns on our breakfast area. We are currently working on a long term improvement to our breakfast room. In the meantime, we have added additional indoor as well as outdoor patio seating to better meet our guests needs.
Thank you again for your positive & constructive remarks. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here two nights and booked online through the hotel's own website. All was very good. As others have said, the pool area is exceptional. Nice chaise lounges, umbrella tables, and water was lovely. The first night we arrived kind of late and got some sandwiches nearby and ate them poolside. Nice.
Comfortable beds. The AC unit was exceptional. Set the dial for a temperature and the fan comes on and off to maintain that temp. Our bathroom was good except the drain in the sink wasn't good. The water did not drain too well, even after we asked the Front Desk to check it out. The shower was fine. Other rooms might not have had our situation.
Breakfast is really good in the BW Plus hotels. The problem with this place is space. Not enough tables/chairs. Their breakfast area is in a wide hallway. Not good at all. We patiently waited for our turn to get food, but then had to take it back to our room to eat.
Unfortunately, there are no restaurants nearby, but rather only sandwich places along with a KFC. Big drawback. Driving to Paso Robles about 10 miles is a real drag to get a decent meal.
But, all in all, for the price, it was really a bargain.

Room Tip: Rooms that face inward towards the pool area are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geof F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your many kind responses. We strive to create a comfortable experience while providing excellent value.
I well understand your concern about the breakfast area. We are working on a long term improvement to our breakfast area. In the meantime, we have added additional indoor as well as outdoor patio seating to better accommodate our guests needs.
Thank you again for your constructive feedback. I hope we can serve your travel needs again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was a great hotel! They were going through some renovations, but no worries, everything was still great. However, I would like to comment that I booked this through Hotwire, and immediately after booking I found the direct website had a cheaper price. I emailed Hotwire, because they do have a guarantee to refund the difference, but they made it so difficult through the seven emails, that by the time they would look at the website prices, prices increased. They refused to refund the difference. So, book directly at the hotel site and not through Hotwire. It is a great hotel and the hotel would be very smart to no longer do business with Hotwire. Awesome pool area too!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioVazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geof F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Sergio, thank you for your positive remarks. We strive to provide the best possible service & facilities at a reasonable price. I am pleased we delivered that value to you.
I hope we may service your needs in the future. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
1.3 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#1 of 7 in Atascadero
424 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
902 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Colony Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Address: 3600 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect place to stay on California's Central Coast. Located in Atascadero, CA and surrounded by the special charm and excitement of Paso Robles Wine Country, BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect location for wine tasting, bike riding, golf, visiting the historic missions, family outings, and hiking. Motorcycle enthuses enjoy traveling the spectacular coastline leading to the Pacific Ocean where you will enjoy Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Harbor and quaint seaside shops, all minutes from the newly refreshed BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, Atascadero California. Hotel guests enjoy a fully appointed health club, Kennedy Club Fitness Center, which includes workout equipment, basketball courts, racquet ball courts, an Olympic size swimming pool, yoga and zumba classes and more. BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn welcomes you to the Central Coast for family fun, a romantic get-away, business meetings and wine tasting! Corporate, military, AAA and senior rates are always available. Visit our calendar of events for attractions and events in San Luis Obispo County such Hot El Camino Nights & Car Show, The California Mid State Fair, The Tamale Festival, Paso Robles Wine Festival and Vine Street Showcase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Colony Hotel Atascadero
Best Western Atascadero
Atascadero Best Western
Best Western Colony Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing