We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and basic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Atascadero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel 6 Atascadero
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Affordable and basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

If all you need is a place to sleep and clean up for your adventures, this will work for you. This is my 2nd stay here. I always bring my own coffee pot and cooler, as there is no coffee pot in room or refrigerator. The price is very affordable: $54 a night with senior discount. They also accept pets and have a good pool. It's a 2 story building on corner of Santa Rosa Street and El Camino Real, the main drag in Atascadero. Easy on and off the highway. There's coffee in the office in the morning, if you want. Restaurants aren't very far away on ECR. Bathroom and room itself was clean. The towels are small-ish and thin so if you want more, bring your own. If you want internet, it's $3 for 24 hours. Office staff were courteous and efficient. I recommend this motel if all you want is basics and a good price (especially on the Central Coast).

Room Tip: If you want quieter, ask for a room away from ECR and on the Santa Rosa side (away from the pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    20
    8
    12
See reviews for
11
21
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

My boyfriend and I planned a weekend wine tasting in Paso Robles, but didn't want to pay Paso Robles' prices for a simple place to lay our head at night. Atascadero's Motel 6 is 10-15 minutes drive from Paso, and a simple, easy place to stay. No frills, but just a basic room that was clean. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfgoldrushgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We drove up to Morro Bay and then Cambria on a recent Saturday and after dinner at the Galley's Seafood Grill & Bar in Morro Bay and dreading the drive back to Los Angeles after a few drinks, we decided to stay over for the evening instead. Not having planned this overnight stay ahead of time, we launched the Booking app on our iPhone and searched for something that's cost effective and within driving radius. We only needed a room for a few hours overnight to sleep, nothing fancy. We found Motel 6 at $59.00 a night ($66 with tax) on the app and after a few swipes and taps, booked our reservation on our iPhone. The only thing was it is a 17 mile drive from Morro Bay, but can't complain since the price was right.

We stayed in a single king room, it's small but sufficient for our needs. If you've stayed at one Motel 6, you've pretty much stayed in all of them. I do notice the shower has been upgraded - not sure if the change pertains to this establishment or the entire Motel 6 chain (I haven't stayed at a Motel 6 since 2006), but the result is pleasantly nice. Only complaints I have is the shower floor is not as clean as it should be. It look like it needed a good ol' scrub with some Scrubbing Bubbles. The pillows are worn out and are quite flat. Regardless, I know I can count on Motel 6 during those on-a-whim type overnight stays for their availability, cost efficiency and value.

Room Tip: Make your reservation through Booking, we saved $10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Beds were comfy. Small room. Shower floor was stained, it looked horrible. Good price and 15 minutes from Morro bay. Saved us about $50., since we drove to the bay instead. They had coffee in the a.m. staff was friendly when we checked in. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinthrutowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights here while visiting family. This is your basic, no frills, reefer, microwave, coffeepot room, but fits the budget. Large complex on the corner of Santa Rosa Road and El Camino Real, easy on and off the freeway. Not too noisy. Large pool. Ask for a room away from ECR if you want more peace and quiet. Have laundry facilities here and vending machines. Not too far from the State Hospital. Large parking lot.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

In town for a wedding and desperate for a hotel I decided settle for a Motel 6. The reviews I had read terrified me, but everything else was booked up. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Upon arriving the room did have a strong chemical / smoke aroma. Other than that, the bed had fresh/clean sheets, the bathroom was very clean and the A/C heater worked very well. I'm not sure what else you can really ask for especially for the money. I would not hesitate to stay here again in a pinch.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We booked a reservation for Motel 6 Atascadero via the website bookit.com. When we arrived, the motel refused to honor the reservation. We ended up at a very lovely Holiday Inn nearby instead, but at a price more than twice as high: $212 per night Saturday night, vs. $69 at Motel 6. Will not stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel where they honor reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveK619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atascadero hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
1.9 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#1 of 7 in Atascadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
12.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
12.5 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Atascadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Atascadero

Property: Motel 6 Atascadero
Address: 9400 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-5514
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Atascadero 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Atascadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Atascadero
Atascadero Motel 6
Atascadero Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing