We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Ocean Harvest Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 90 Restaurants in Atascadero
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Monrovia, California
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We met some friends here on the way to a winery weekend Memorial Day weekend 2013 They (from San Francisco) had dinner here last year before our annual winery weekend on Memorial Day Weekend 2012. We're all fancy restaurant foodies, by the way.

We joined our friends here before heading to our winery inn. Located on the main drag 5625 El Camino Real in Atascadero, CA 93422 you might drive right by. The parking lot is next to a laundromat, and the signage is weathered.

Don't let that deter you. Park and walk in. It's not fancy but the seafood is spot on.

I had fresh broiled halibut, others at our table had salmon, and salmon with cajun spices. With that you get clam chowder (a little too thick for me, but chock full of plump clams, and I ate every spoonfull. Salad in one of those basket-weave salad bowls from diners of the past. (adorable, retro), and a basket of crackers and oyster crackers, also retro. Right for the restaurant!

The fish was amazing. Fresh, perfectly broiled, nice sized portion. I think the meal was $19.95. Will definitely stop here again! Hope you do too.

Our waitress was delightful, the clientele was mostly local. Enjoy and leave a nice tip!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank astrojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crab Louie with Processed Cheese”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

If you want crab louie, which is crab, with processed american cheese, go here. If you want clam chowder that is atrocious, go here. You can stand a spoon up in the chowder. If want good food, don't go here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gero C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Surprise Surprise”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

I have been driving by this place for years and my wife keep saying, "looks like a dive." Needless to say, I talked her and some friends from SoCal to try it. It is definetly a through-back to years gone by. They haven't spent lots of money over the years constantly upgrading the ambiance. Everything is focused on delivering great seafood at a very reasonable price. All the seafood was fresh, all cooked to perfection and ample amounts. We have paid three times as much for equal quality. We now have a new restraurant on our short list for get places in A-town. Also, cork charge was only $7. Win-win all they way around.

Helpful?
Thank mikeprowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meals o.k. but location poor”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Meals were o.k. but the location is poor. Friendly service. No wine list, only american coffee. We were two travelling germans and both of us had a fish meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Established Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This place has been around for a long time. The restaurant also serves as a fish market too. The value is very good for the price that you pay. I had the Top Sirloin and Scallop Dinner. It comes with a cup of Clam Chowder, a dinner salad with your choice of dressing (home made) the entree was accompanied by fresh grilled vegetables and a choice of rice, baked potato or fries. They also have some nice wines by the bottle or by the glass for a very reasonable price. The staff were very friendly and made the experience pleasant. I would definitely go back again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Harvest Restaurant also viewed

Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 
Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ocean Harvest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing