We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!!!!”

Jantz Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Atwater
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!!!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Jantz is my favorite restaurant in Atwater. Their chicken salad and bread is amazing!!! They have the perfect sweet tea!! Monday & Thursday they serve wonderful cheeseburger chowder. I have tried many different cookies and pies all have been very good. Wednesdays is free piece of pie day with a meal purchase. I only get Jantz while visiting California but it is must!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Odie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    39
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pick up some baked goods after lunch”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We eat lunch here a few times a year and I always order the chicken salad sandwich. Any sandwich meal is large enough to take half home, the buns are freshly made in their bakery, and the soup is always very tasty. The bakery part of the business "takes the cake." There is a wonderful array of pies, cakes, breads, and cinnamon rolls that are fresh and tasty.
For faster service avoid peak lunch times and free pie Wednesday (unless you really want a free piece of pie).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momwnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I had breakfast for the first time at Jantz...loved it, especially the egg white omelet. Great service and if you go in around ten a.m. the seating is of the 'no wait' variety.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good!”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Good food and service. Not all that crazy about the biscuits and gravy but I live in the south, home of biscuits and gravy

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank unicorn1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is THE best restaurant in the area. The food is fantastic, the service is wonderful and the desserts are heavenly. They specialize in breakfast and lunch but have recently started serving dinner on Friday nights. Every item on the menu is genuine home cooking and the breads are always made fresh and warm from the oven. YUMMY!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cowboydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jantz Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Jantz Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing