We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Outdoor Wedding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Power's Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Power's Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Auburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California, United States
1 review
“Lovely Outdoor Wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband (Yaaa!) and I recently got married at the Powers Mansion Inn in October. Alfred was there with us right along the way, answering our questions for over 9 months. This continued communication and willingness to meet with us several times made the day of spectacular and easy going. The inclusiveness of this venue (including ceremony, officiant, flowers, reception hall, linens, DJ, food/drink, MC and hotel) made planning and the day of run smoothly. We booked the mansion for two nights and we and our guests had a lovely time. The food for our wedding day, rehearsal and breakfast was great and plentiful. I can’t stop dreaming of the french toast doughnuts. The mansion provided a lovely backdrop for our wedding and the reception hall was just the right size for our 100 person wedding. My husband and I had a delightful day and will always look upon the Powers Mansion Inn with fond memories.

Thanks for everything,

Amanda & Roy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    74
    14
    21
    34
See reviews for
82
228
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

There are bed and breakfast experiences and there are wonderful bed and breakfast experiences, none better than the Powers Mansion Inn in beautiful Auburn, California. The moment we stepped into the antique decor of the Mansion's parlor, we were transported back to 1848 Gold Country times. To our left was an old-fashioned tea parlor. To our right was the sitting room containing various antiques. Directly in front of us as we stood behind the welcome desk was Alfred, the owner of this award winning establishment and the true embodiment of hospitality at its finest. We have never met a better host whose greatest joy is the satisfaction of his guests.

We settled into the 12th room, the honeymoon suite with a heart-shaped Jacuzzi and a fireplace. Alfred checked to make sure everything was to our liking and invited us to the gourmet breakfast the following morning. The suite was perfect in every way!

The next morning, Alfred greeted us at the Power Pub with two breakfast plates filled with quiche, blueberry scones, bacon, sausage and potatoes O'Brian. On the table were fresh orange juice and coffee. Alfred even took time to visit with us for a few minutes.

We have already decided that this is our new "go to" place for a relaxing, romantic weekend. This is the kind of experience that brings lasting memories.

Room Tip: Check with Groupon for an unbelievable deal on this hotel, and browse the hotel's website to cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danno612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

If you are expecting to be "wowed" by decor or a professional Victorian garden, The Power's Mansion isn't going to be your cup of tea. However, the interior is lovingly restored and a treat to hang out in. The rooms are comfy but they won't have you staring at objects in wonder.

However, if you are looking for a compelling, fun and truly interesting host who (by shear will) can make your entire trip memorable and lifts your spirits AND provides great food and drink, than Alfred and the Power's Mansion is your E-ticket.

We've traveled around the world, know many artists, seen many interesting things and stayed at many B&Bs but thus far, The Power's Mansion moves to the top of our list as one of the most hospitable and enjoyable places to visit simply because the host is a one man tour de force who has to be experienced to be believed.

If you want to feel like you've just seen a great movie and spontaneously thrust into some kind of great motivational seminar all the while munching on great, home made food and drinking fabulous home made beer and wine, than the Power's Mansion is truly a gold nugget on your gold country safari! A Must Experience!

5 thumbs up!

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are always going to be your best bet but all the rooms seem like they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The owner, Alfred, is such a charming and welcoming host. It's like staying at his home. Not only is the B&B warm and romantic, the attached restaurant and pub is even better. Alfred makes his own hand crafted beers based on years of experience and they are phenomenal. And we're not talking about just a few beers, we're talking 110 beers from his "tapzilla" that are just amazing. We tasted at lest 7-8 beers and chose the Apple Ale. Wow...a smooth, silky, refreshing beer that went down easy. Lots of folks came in a greeted Alfred with a hug, just as you would an old friend. And the food is simple, yet amazing, just as it should be. The chicken wings are an old fashioned buttermilk recipe that makes them, moist and tasty without being greasy like other wings. Definitely a place to stay and visit. And downtown is a quick 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: The B&B is in a quiet location and it was really easy to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Alfred (owner) and the staff are top notch. Room is typical historic; breakfast was a pleasant surprise, not at all the typical "breakfast included" menu. Alfred has a huge assortment of his own brewed beers at the adjacent Pub. The four our group sampled were excellent.
The Inn is close to the center of Auburn. We walked the Old Town Historic Tour one day and the Downtown walking tour the next. Get the brochures at the visitor center in the middle of town.
We will definately book this deal (Travelzoo) if it comes up again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I were recently married at the Powers Mansion in September. I couldn't have imagined a more wonderful wedding. Everything was perfect. All the required venues needed for a wedding housed at a centralized location. Married on a beautiful sunny day, under the shade of a majestic old oak tree on the mansion grounds. Then a romantic reception in the ballroom, that turned into an epic dance party full of fun and great memories. If you needed a break from the music you could walk across the hall to the quiet and intimate Power Club, a classy full bar and Irish Pub. Once inside you have the welcome task of choosing between a well made cocktail or a multitude of custom craft beer. After dancing the night away, and partaking in a fair share of alcoholic beverages there is no need for concern with a sober ride home or taxi as the Powers Mansion is also a Bed and Breakfast after all. When ready, retire to the Mansion, with enough space for an entire wedding party, and pass out for a few hours only to wake up to a wonderfully prepared breakfast back in the Irish Pub. The Powers Mansion is the complete package, absolutely every single service and venue requirement fulfilled, for a wonderful and memorable wedding. We will be forever indebted to Alfred and the staff of the Powers Mansion. Thank you again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We purchased a mid-week one-night stay in this charming Victorian Inn through Travelzoo for $79 plus $16 tax charged by the inn. Parking is in the lot adjacent to the back gate to the inn. We had booked the Gold Room which has its own private porch with café table and chairs. Since we had a ground floor room, rolling our suitcases down a short distance over the synthetic grass was no problem. The friendly innkeeper Alice showed us around the property- the common rooms are delightfully decorated by the High Tea business which is run out of the inn. We were welcome to use the kitchen refrigerator to store our food we had purchased earlier. If you bring your own tea bags or coffee, you are free to use the kitchen and dishes to prepare your drinks. Alice informed us that besides breakfast our booking included a 5pm snack and two micro brew beers in the adjacent Power Club Irish Pub a few steps from the inn. This is also the place where the sumptuous breakfast is prepared and served personally by the owner of the inn Alfred Lee. Alfred came to greet each guest personally, and we had a delightful chat about the history of the inn. At the discounted rate we did not expect too much, but we were positively surprised. We just wish Auburn were closer to our home in Hawaii so we could visit more often. Yes, as golfnpal noted, one of the lamps was not plugged in, but I easily located the plug under the table. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Remember that this is an old restored building, so don't get picky about minor inconveniences. If no one is at the front office to answer your questions, call the innkeeper whose phone number is posted all around the property.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
14.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Power's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Power's Mansion Inn

Property: Power's Mansion Inn
Address: 195 Harrison Ave, Auburn, CA 95603-4223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Power's Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Downtown Auburn, the Power's Mansion is a Victorian Mansion filled with gold country charm and history. Surrounded by fun breweries, pubs, restaurants and pizza parlors, the mansion is a must destination for anyone visiting gold country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Power's Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Power`s Mansion Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing