We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to go back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Power's Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Auburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, the rooms will take you back in time. The owners are such sweethearts, Alfred is one of a kind. Wait until ypu try his breakfast. I have never had a better breakfast that this in a bed and breakfast. And the rooms are adorable and make you feel like your in another world. What a lovely place. I will return and if I ever get married, this is my place. I loved it and you will too.

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite was so beautiful, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, oh how romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitten3660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

The two nights I spent in this Bed & Breakfast while in the area for the wedding of a friend were very pleasant. The 1880's Victorian house is very charming and comfortably furnished for guests. Despite the age of the house, it was so quiet that I wondered if I were the only guest, but saw plenty of other cars in the parking lot and met other guests coming and going. I stayed in The Power Room, and loved reading in the cozy bay window. Remember, this is not a spa resort, so don't come looking for fancy modern amenities, but, if you enjoy quirky, historic and fun, you should enjoy your stay here as much as I did. The adjacent Irish pub has good food, and is convenient for the complimentary breakfast as well as dinner without driving. The location of the inn is in a quiet neighborhood, and close to lots of great shopping in the old town district of Auburn.

Room Tip: Check out the description of each room on the Power's Mansion Inn website and choose the one tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband (Yaaa!) and I recently got married at the Powers Mansion Inn in October. Alfred was there with us right along the way, answering our questions for over 9 months. This continued communication and willingness to meet with us several times made the day of spectacular and easy going. The inclusiveness of this venue (including ceremony, officiant, flowers, reception hall, linens, DJ, food/drink, MC and hotel) made planning and the day of run smoothly. We booked the mansion for two nights and we and our guests had a lovely time. The food for our wedding day, rehearsal and breakfast was great and plentiful. I can’t stop dreaming of the french toast doughnuts. The mansion provided a lovely backdrop for our wedding and the reception hall was just the right size for our 100 person wedding. My husband and I had a delightful day and will always look upon the Powers Mansion Inn with fond memories.

Thanks for everything,

Amanda & Roy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

There are bed and breakfast experiences and there are wonderful bed and breakfast experiences, none better than the Powers Mansion Inn in beautiful Auburn, California. The moment we stepped into the antique decor of the Mansion's parlor, we were transported back to 1848 Gold Country times. To our left was an old-fashioned tea parlor. To our right was the sitting room containing various antiques. Directly in front of us as we stood behind the welcome desk was Alfred, the owner of this award winning establishment and the true embodiment of hospitality at its finest. We have never met a better host whose greatest joy is the satisfaction of his guests.

We settled into the 12th room, the honeymoon suite with a heart-shaped Jacuzzi and a fireplace. Alfred checked to make sure everything was to our liking and invited us to the gourmet breakfast the following morning. The suite was perfect in every way!

The next morning, Alfred greeted us at the Power Pub with two breakfast plates filled with quiche, blueberry scones, bacon, sausage and potatoes O'Brian. On the table were fresh orange juice and coffee. Alfred even took time to visit with us for a few minutes.

We have already decided that this is our new "go to" place for a relaxing, romantic weekend. This is the kind of experience that brings lasting memories.

Room Tip: Check with Groupon for an unbelievable deal on this hotel, and browse the hotel's website to cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danno612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

If you are expecting to be "wowed" by decor or a professional Victorian garden, The Power's Mansion isn't going to be your cup of tea. However, the interior is lovingly restored and a treat to hang out in. The rooms are comfy but they won't have you staring at objects in wonder.

However, if you are looking for a compelling, fun and truly interesting host who (by shear will) can make your entire trip memorable and lifts your spirits AND provides great food and drink, than Alfred and the Power's Mansion is your E-ticket.

We've traveled around the world, know many artists, seen many interesting things and stayed at many B&Bs but thus far, The Power's Mansion moves to the top of our list as one of the most hospitable and enjoyable places to visit simply because the host is a one man tour de force who has to be experienced to be believed.

If you want to feel like you've just seen a great movie and spontaneously thrust into some kind of great motivational seminar all the while munching on great, home made food and drinking fabulous home made beer and wine, than the Power's Mansion is truly a gold nugget on your gold country safari! A Must Experience!

5 thumbs up!

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are always going to be your best bet but all the rooms seem like they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The owner, Alfred, is such a charming and welcoming host. It's like staying at his home. Not only is the B&B warm and romantic, the attached restaurant and pub is even better. Alfred makes his own hand crafted beers based on years of experience and they are phenomenal. And we're not talking about just a few beers, we're talking 110 beers from his "tapzilla" that are just amazing. We tasted at lest 7-8 beers and chose the Apple Ale. Wow...a smooth, silky, refreshing beer that went down easy. Lots of folks came in a greeted Alfred with a hug, just as you would an old friend. And the food is simple, yet amazing, just as it should be. The chicken wings are an old fashioned buttermilk recipe that makes them, moist and tasty without being greasy like other wings. Definitely a place to stay and visit. And downtown is a quick 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: The B&B is in a quiet location and it was really easy to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Alfred (owner) and the staff are top notch. Room is typical historic; breakfast was a pleasant surprise, not at all the typical "breakfast included" menu. Alfred has a huge assortment of his own brewed beers at the adjacent Pub. The four our group sampled were excellent.
The Inn is close to the center of Auburn. We walked the Old Town Historic Tour one day and the Downtown walking tour the next. Get the brochures at the visitor center in the middle of town.
We will definately book this deal (Travelzoo) if it comes up again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
14.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
0.8 mi away
Park Victorian
Park Victorian
#2 of 3 in Auburn
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Power's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Power's Mansion Inn

Address: 195 Harrison Ave, Auburn, CA 95603-4223
Region: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range: £96 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Power's Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Downtown Auburn, the Power's Mansion is a Victorian Mansion filled with gold country charm and history. Surrounded by fun breweries, pubs, restaurants and pizza parlors, the mansion is a must destination for anyone visiting gold country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Power's Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Power`s Mansion Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing