We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Power's Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Auburn B&B and Inns
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Time”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I set up a family reunion/50th wedding anniversary celebration here for my fiancé's mother and father.
The hotel rooms, although some seem to be still undergoing renovations (small things like wall paper and flooring changes) were quite nice. The ones that had been renovated were emasculate, and the ones that hadn't weren't horrible, ours (the Irish Cooley room) was actually very cute! Cleaning was offered, but we turned it down simply because of the fact that we had 9 rooms (a little much for anyone to clean everyday).

The staff was very attentive! Mr. Lee took care of us very well, any issues were handled in a timely manner, fixed before we were back from dinner. He also set up a room near the pub for the family to gather, play cards, watch TV, and have the anniversary celebration. The Pub staff was charming, and 110% attentive, they received great tips!! The food was GREAT, we didn't have much variety (our allergy restrictions may have caused this), but it was consistently deciduous.

The building itself was very cute, and even the fake grass outside didn't bother us too much (saved the kids clothes and us from itching). The tea room was set up nicely, and although we were asked to avoid it during tea-time they still allowed us to use the parlor. Tea was also an amazing experience, the staff was again attentive and accommodating (they fit us in last minute).

I couldn't find much wrong with the trip, the staff was great, the pricing was reasonable, and the town is very cute! Take the tour at city hall, it was fun! Mr. Lee and his family are doing a great job with the mansion, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeAnna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    76
    14
    23
    35
See reviews for
85
236
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The first thing we noticed was the "grass" as we were led to our room. It's plastic grass!
Pretty in a picture but....
The room was old, not antiqueish. The tea room was nice to look at but not available for the guests. Just the kitchen was available for us to use with everyone else. We had to walk to a restaurant owned by them for our breakfast. I would not go back ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We bought a Groupon deal for the Powers Mansion Inn, I would be so mad if we would've paid regular $200 per night, it wasn't even worth $116. This mansion looks very nice from the outside, but inside it is so run down, cluttered and dusty that kills the romantic mood instantly. Our room was a disaster: peeling wallpaper,terrible water stains on the fireplace and hardwood, cobwebs, stinky Jacuzzi tub, layers of dust on the window seals with a collection of dead bugs, we were afraid to turn the ceiling fan on due to thick layer of dust, that looked black, it was probably washed for a last time about a decade ago. But the worst of all was noise that was coming from the bars, loud music, hooting and hollering until 4 am. We had our windows shot, but that didn't help at all. By the time it was quiet the trains started coming by and it felt like were sleeping on the train station, they were so loud. I know I can't really blame owners for that, but it was almost ridiculous, since at 5am garbage truck started collecting garbage and it took for ever. We didn't sleep all night. The only good thing was breakfast in the morning, otherwise it was a very pathetic romantic getaway. Glad to be home.

Room Tip: go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 485Andy_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I bought a Groupon for this Bed & Breakfast. Alfred, the owner, was a delight. We chatted with him at dinner and breakfast. He is the "everything" man for the establishment. Paul checked us in and was very personable and easy to talk with. We met Steve for dinner and he also was very personable. The food for dinner, and breakfast the next morning, was incredibly delicious. At any given time there is 110 beers on tap! We only tried 1 though and it was very good. Alfred and Paul are brewers. There is a need for detail in the rooms and maybe someone, other than the guests, making coffee in the kitchen in the morning. (the place were you eat is next door to the mansion) Our overall experience was good. Thank you Alfred for a good experience visiting Auburn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Power Room and it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband surprised me with a reservation here on May 10th for our anniversary. What a mistake. For a place with much potential, it does not deliver. Most of it is tacky and run-down, with loads of deferred maintenance to be attended to. The exception is the pretty parlor and dining area, the dining area that the guests do not use...we were supposed to walk across the parking lot to the brew pub for breakfast. Tacky expanses of fake grass greet you, and a tired room with no charm at all. There is absolutely no attention to detail there at all. The clock on the wall did not work, no glasses or opener were included with the bottle of wine, and our view out the window was of a rooftop with broken gutters and rotting wood. The toilet was not secure on the floor, the wall needed patching where something had been attached, etc etc. There were no glasses in the room or bathroom at all, either for a drink of water, or to brush teeth with. Add to this, the fact that the place has three bars/clubs around it. Though this is no fault of the owner of Powers Mansion, we did not go to sleep until after 2 am when the bars closed, due to all the hooting and hollering outside.-this was with the windows closed. The worse part of the room was the bed. It was so hard and old, that it should be thrown away immediately. We both awoke at 6, aching all over. We left right then and came home, skipping the breakfast. (which at 9 am is too late anyway).

I called the owner and he agreed to a refund via Groupon, where my husband booked the room. I do hope he takes my phone comments, as well as this review, seriously. It is a shame that such a pretty place with such potential, is tacky and uncomfortable. What a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband treated me on Mother's Day for this local getaway from Sacramento. It was the first time either of us had stayed at a Bed & Breakfast (B&B). The warm customer service Alfred and Brittney extended was welcoming. I felt at home before we'd even arrived! Brittney maintained this welcome during her introduction and orientation of the Inn. After settling in, we walked the 1/2 block to downtown Auburn, a very nice area for walking and shopping and dining. The evening back at the B&B (The Power Room) that night. We heard a peep from no one. Alfred was a delight and so were the new friends we met during breakfast. The meal was heavy on fried and carbs and meat, so as a vegan(ish) I'll defer to my husband who said, "I really liked it!"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaTanyaHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had my wedding there...the white tablecloths were so dirty from a wedding a week before, they attempted to cover it up the day of rehearsal! MY FAMILY AND I WASHED AND IRONED THEM!! They also put greased utensils on each of the tables (which some had food particles on!). The ceremony chairs were completely covered in pollen which I doubt they wouldn't do anything about until my mother-in-law said something. Throughout months of planning, when we called Alfred to confirm the payments, he didn't even know who we were! We had to constantly remind him. Also, instead of bothering to call us with any questions about the number of guests (we told him that there were going to be 80 at the beginning), he had the nerve to ask my in-laws. He's not a good DJ at all. Half the songs/genres we asked for were not played at all. If he wanted some songs, I told him I have a good 10 GB worth for pete's sake. Then we told him to release all the guest rooms we were thinking of reserving, he decided to release our honeymoon suite! Like really we were getting married (he's the one that told us we would have a free night stay in the honeymoon suite) and who wouldn't take advantage of that? He then tried to blame my husband for it (aka he would rather have the money). My mother-in-law's room was extremely overheated. The shower head in our bathroom was just a handheld one with a hook placed to hold it (very annoying I might add). The room itself had no closet. Did I mention I was setting up up until the wedding and the fact that I still don't know what happened to my anniversary cake? I swear some of the stuff I had bought are STILL unaccounted for. I guess a wedding with 70-80 people was something they could care less about. In conclusion, make sure EVERY SINGLE THING is clean and in my personal opinion don't bother renting the place. I would only go back just for the food if it weren't for this horrific experience.

Room Tip: If possible, stay on the upper floor that way you won't hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
0.8 mi away
Park Victorian
Park Victorian
#2 of 3 in Auburn
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Auburn
Motel 6 Auburn
#3 of 7 in Auburn
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Power's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Power's Mansion Inn

Property: Power's Mansion Inn
Address: 195 Harrison Ave, Auburn, CA 95603-4223
Region: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Power's Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Downtown Auburn, the Power's Mansion is a Victorian Mansion filled with gold country charm and history. Surrounded by fun breweries, pubs, restaurants and pizza parlors, the mansion is a must destination for anyone visiting gold country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Power's Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Power`s Mansion Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing