We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer - Great Food”
Review of Auburn Alehouse

Auburn Alehouse
Ranked #3 of 165 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Brian & Lisa Ford opened Auburn Alehouse Brewery & Restaurant in 2007 in the iconic Shanghai Restaurant, embracing the building's character and colorful history in the heart of Historic Auburn. While enjoying their full bistro menu, patrons can often see Brian & his brewers making world-class beer in small batches, using only the finest malted barley and American-grown hops. With a collection of prestigious awards hanging on the wall it's easy to see why the SacBee recently said Auburn Alehouse is one of the region's premier craft breweries. Favorites include the Gold Digger IPA (CA State Fair Gold Medal Winner), Gold Country Pilsner (GABF Gold Medal Winner), Hop Donkey (GABF Silver Medal Winner) and PU240 IPA! Lunch and Dinner are served every day, while our Brunch menu is served on Saturday and Sunday from 9am-noon. Don't forget we have a dog friendly patio!
Newcastle, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Beer - Great Food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Located in a Historic Building the Heart of "Old Town" Auburn, this is a great place for locals as well as travelers passing through on I-80, just two blocks away.

My favorites are the Shanghai Stout and Old Town Brown......combine that with their Pulled Pork Sandwich, and I'm a Happy Camper!

The only drawback is it is NOISY......so don't plan to go their if you want to have intimate conversations......Go for the Beer and Food instead.....talk later....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robuckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    120
    38
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beer and dinner”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

try the deep fried pickles and beer. Bar is loud and the people are friendly. If you are from around the area you will always know someone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balance21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Pit Stop!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We discovered this place a couple of months ago, on the way to Reno to visit a childhood friend. Downtown Auburn is charming and parking has been easy. We have stopped for lunch, to and from, several times. This is our go to place. We always sit at the bar and have great conversations with the bar tenders. Fantastic burgers, salads and tacos...so far. As DD, I can only report that the margaritas and beers, the latter is for what this place is known, are delicious. It is our new pit stop on the way to Tahoe and Reno. And before we are back on I-80, we amble up the road to Ikeda for pies! Auburn is a kick!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leapsandbounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
341 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“The Auburn Ale House gets an A+”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were driving from Lake Tahoe to Sacramento and I just happened to catch a billboard advertising the brewery. Thank heavens it was time for lunch and a beer so we located it. What a find! It is in the heart of old town, and perfect in both atmosphere and ambiance. Great service, outstanding beer, beautifully presented in a round beer serving tray with tulip glasses, and great food! I had the shaved turkey sandwich while my husband enjoyed little neck clams and the kid devoured his hamburger. We were both impressed with the Shanghai Stout and the Spring Fling seasonal. If this place had been closer to where we were staying, we would have came back for a second meal. Make this a stop on your next road trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newjerseyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We had an early dinner here on a Saturday evening. We were seated right away and had an excellent waitress. The kids meals were above average and nicely plated. Hubby and I both had the clam chowder (excellent with a little kick) and salads. Fresh ingredients with good dressing. If your going later than us (we were out by 6:30pm) I'd definitely call and get yourself on the list as it was picking up quickly when we left. The bar was packed the whole time we were there. We will be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sacha_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Auburn Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing