We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Motel 6 Auburn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Auburn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was surprised by all the negative reviews for this place. Good thing I didn't looks them up prior to my stay, because it turned out to be really good. I don't believe in writing reviews for motel chains what's the point?? They're all the same! Except this one.

The room I was in was obviously newly remodeled, everything has a modern feel to it; flat screen mounted to the wall, shelves instead of drawers, hard wood flooring. best of all they got rid of their signature printed motif for the beds. Now it's just white sheets with gold runner. Sink was also changed. Only thing that still resembles a motel 6 is the bathroom. It still feels and looks used/old. Two little bars of soap provided (typical of motel6 don't know why ppl.complain about it). I was extremely impressed that it has a fridge and a safety box, extremely convenient and unexpected.

The check in guy was also very courteous, efficient, and professional. This place does cost more than other motel 6, not sure if it's the location, the rennovation they're doing or.jist that weekend. Overall for its class it surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilia_KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Auburn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

Booked in here for 2 nights as running a trail race in Cool. Check in took forever, for no apparent reason. Half the outside of the hotel was under renovation and i was given a room which the exterior was being worked on. Loudly. Then 2 workmen walked into my room, no knock nothing. Noisy from 3-5pm. The room had a fridge and microwave. The TV worked on some channels. No shampoo etc just a v small bar of soap. Right by the freeway so also noisy. After 1 night i booked out and moved to the Larkspur Landing in Roseville for pretty much the same rate, a world of difference. This hotel is fine if you get there late and leave early, otherwise forget it.

Room Tip: Definitely not one being worked on!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

2011, I began struggling physically with extreme chronic pain. Needing a place to "get away" and Pray, I wasn't sure what to expect (several experiences with Motel 6 have NOT been pleasant), but I love Auburn, & took a chance.
This new motel six was clean, inexpensive and beautiful! I was very happy with my stay COMPLETELY!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanBeckyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We entered our room looked around and went to front desk to ask for our money back, of course they said NO! It was dirty, ants all over the counter and bathroom. I've never stayed at a hotel where I didn't want to sit on a toilet!! The shower looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in a while. There was inches of dirt all the way around the room. The drug dealer who stood outside at the back entrance was scary as hell, I was not surprised when 4 K9 unit cops showed up to sniff for drugs. There is a reason why its so cheap! I called the corporate office and filed a complaint.

Room Tip: Instead of giving us our money back they offered us another room... I asked... DO YOU REALLY CLEAN O...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Everything else was great. Bathroom was clean, non-smoking room, great location (walk to Ikedas! jog down to the highest bridge in CA, short drive to Ruck-A-Chucky if you are a Western States 100 fan) The motion-sensing of the lights was surprising the first time as was the infrequent but nearby train line but not a big deal to me. I'd give 5 stars if the pool worked (closed for maintenance). It was hot in Auburn and I was jonesing for a swim. Check-in was quick and the desk staff were very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: 1st floor is smoking but you can't smell it on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

My wife and I returned from breakfast on Friday, December 23, and found that our key card would not open our door. After about 45 minutes of back and forth with the clerk, a maintenance man successfully opened our door.

But this was the last straw for us.

The room had a motion-detection light thing so that, if you sat for 10 minutes reading a book, the light went out and you had to reset it.

We'd made a reservation for two adults, and yet there were no bath towels.

And so on.

So, we decided to cancel the second night and go somewhere else. THE CLERK REFUSED TO GIVE US A BILL SHOWING THAT WE WERE CHARGED FOR ONE NIGHT. When I asked to talk to her boss, she said that he was in India. When I asked her to give me whatever bill she could give me, she said that they didn't give bills for rooms that were reserved over the Net.

Please don't go there. Spend the extra $10-$20 and go to the Comfort Inn next door.

In all sincerity,

Kim, Los Angeles

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jgwollaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The good: the price was cheap, about $55 for the night, for a family of four. Two double beds, the sheets were clean. The bathroom was clean as well, and the staff was nice during check in. It is pet friendly and had no issues with our dog. It was right off the freeway, so easy access, and there were gas stations close by and a few fast food joints along with a grocery store. We stayed in a room on the end furthest from the freeway and did not hear any road noise. The A/C-heater-fan and tv worked fine.

The bad: no frills. (but what do you expect? it IS a Motel 6!) The beds were doubles, not queens. Made for a tight squeeze, but they were comfortable atleast. The floor.... it was bad! Bad enough I did not want to even walk on it with my socks on, just my shoes. It needed to be replaced.... a shampoo job wouldnt have made a dent.

We never tried the free coffee in the lobby or any other services (if they even had any, which I did not even attempt to find out)

Bottom line... if staying here during a trip as just a place to sleep and only staying one night, it might be worth a look. I would not stay here longer than that.

Room Tip: Use your phone/computer and look on expedia (or other travel site) for a lower rate than the walk in...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erixun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.5 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Rocklin
12.3 mi away
Days Inn Rocklin/Sacramento
12.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Auburn

Address: 1819 Auburn Ravine Road, I-80 at Foresthill Road, Auburn, CA 95603-3165
Region: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £49 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Auburn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Auburn is located off I-80 at Auburn Ravine Rd/Foresthill Rd. Restaurants are within walking distance. California's vineyards and wineries are within 5 miles. Enjoy our modern rooms, outdoor pool and hot tub. Free Wi-Fi throughout the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Auburn Hotel Auburn
Motel Six Auburn
Auburn Motel Six
Auburn Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing