We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average diner.”
Review of Katrina's

Katrina's
Ranked #1 of 165 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not your average diner.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is one of our favorite places. It is small and often crowded, but the food is consistently good.It is worth the wait.

The only downside is that it can feel very cramped when it is busy ( which is most of the time). Not for claustrophobics.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trekker02mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    51
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sac
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favorite Breakfast”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I'm not a breakfast person but if my family wants to go to Katrina's I'm in the car first. Everything is sooo fresh. Large portions. I cannot eat melons. Many times they have very fresh berry assortment. This is a small very homey restaurant. Get there early and expect a wait.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SacTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot just off I-80”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

High quality food and friendly service in an otherwise nondescript location. I had the Tuscan, perfectly scrambled eggs over thick yummy toast with sunddried tomatoes, goat cheese, and basil along with excellent home fries and fruit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adamcoleshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn,CA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have lived near this place for many years and I just recently tried it. This place is small and is always crowded. Now being retired I took the dear wife for a late breakfast during the week and it was packed with folks waiting in front. The food was very nice and tasty. The server was very good and personable when she had a few moments. I personally am not a big fan of crowded places and it would be the crowds that would discourage me from returning, NOT the food or the server. Not sure what the solution might be other than to move to a larger location. The noise was a bit on the high end and the space between tables was minimal, so friendly bumping is common. Hope others try it and enjoy it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garyd210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville
Level Contributor
222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Not to be overlooked!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Because of the great reviews we decided to give Katrina's a try. We were not disappointed.

Katrina's is very small and very busy...but this just adds to the overall atmosphere and experience. Tables open up fairly fast so don't be put off if theres a crowd. Service is fast, efficient. Only sour note in our experience was our waitress who was not warm or friendly. In fact she was rude in her curt efficiency. (The reason only 4 stars) The food IS very good and so is the coffee. The bacon is thick AND crisp. I ordered a side and the portion was generous, Home fries excellent. There was a slight mishap with my order..not a biggie, but our waitress acted put out. Again, this seemed to be a personality problem with this one waitress. But the order was fixed promptly.

My friends ordered mushroom omelets which they said were delicious. Not overly cheesy...perfect amount of sautéed mushrooms and onions. We'd definitely gave Katrina's another try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katrina's also viewed

 

Been to Katrina's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing