We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Golden Key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Golden Key
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Easy to find, nice area with numerous dining options within walking distance. Location was right off the freeway but noise was not a factor. Liked the energy efficient features. Clean, good internet access and a good fit for an overnight business trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete one of the surveys about our hotel when you stayed with us. I am glad to see that you were pleased with the new energy efficient systems we have had installed in our rooms and we look forward to your returning soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Golden Key
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great property and wonderful front desk staff. Breakfast was wonderful and free as well. The pool was heated (and tented since it was pouring down rain) and the kids enjoyed that. We stayed two nights on the bottom level. Would get the top floor next time as we had noisy upstairs people stomping at all hours and then again at 5am (not the motel's fault). Would for sure stay here again, great location near many restaurants as well as gas stations and the such.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsWithKidsInTow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Priceline rated this down to a one star, they may be right. Huge rooms that are fairly clean. The property needs LOTS of repairs. The Holiday Inn is comparable in price, but much newer. A minimal breakfast is offered and the staff are friendly. Of the choices in auburn, this may rate number 2.

Room Tip: You can walk to several eateries from this property.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

close to highway access, grocery store & restaurants


good sized room with slightly higher ceiling (on 2d floor)


energy-saving heating / cooling system needed some getting used to, but worked fine


fridge & microwave were spotless


very friendly & helpful staff

Room Tip: upper floor facing away from highway may be slightly quieter
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertfor123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete one of the surveys about your stay at our hotel and we look forward to your visiting with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stopped in Auburn before continuing up into the Sierras. This Best Western was better than expected. The motel is close to Highway 80, but the noise from the highway wasn't a problem for me. The room was nice, and the wifi work well. The breakfast was good enough for me. Along with the friendly staff, I will stay there again when I travel to the Sierras next month.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Theaternut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to contribute a review about our hotel when you were with us last. We look forward to your return visits when you are traveling to the Sierras again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The office staff was friendly and helpful with ideas for dinner. The room was clean and inviting, the color scheme was really attractive. Bathroom was large with shampoo and shower gel dispenser.
Wifi works well. However a convenient hard wire at the desk was great. Bed was comfy.
The grounds are well landscaped with a great place to walk dogs. Yes, PetFriendly! There is an
outdoor jaccuzi and the pool is covered for use in winter.
Would stay here again and very convenient off I-80.

Room Tip: It is convenient to I-80..although traffic noise did not bother me. I am sure the units to the back...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete one of these surveys about our hotel. I am so glad my staff was able to help you find dining nearby that you enjoyed. We do have quite a wide variety of restaurants with in a short distance of the hotel. We hope you will return soon to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Friendly greeting and helpful staff, clean and spacious. Very comfortable beds and found the energy saving key cards great! We had left an article behind. Staff was very helpful and informative. Many thanks to Chuck who was very kind and courteous in helping us getting it sent back to us and going the extra mile for us. Excellent service and value. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cornelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
21.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
19.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
20.4 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Key

Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603-3238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £70 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Key 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, mini fridge, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool (heated from May-October)and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques. Pets are welcome but must be registered with nominal pet fee. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing