We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ouite and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Golden Key
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ouite and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This Motel is always clean and comfortable. The outside always has lots of flowers in bloom and is well maintained. We enjoy the pool and spa area as well. The staff is there are several resturants nearby and a shopping center.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    174
    49
    10
    7
See reviews for
203
150
45
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in April for a race. It had a covered pool which the kids enjoyed. I loved the energy saving device by the door - you use your key to turn on the power and the aircon. Clean and comfortable, and great customer service!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

That was the must costumer friendly, clean, motel I think I have ever stayed at. The entire staff treated me like extended family. Everything was just perfect, The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was great, the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merced, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have stayed here about 8 to 10 times. Always stay a night to or from Reno. Property is always well maintaned. Exterior, rooms, lobby and breakfast area. . Greeted by same people for the last 3 years. Had some noisy neighbors one time and the lady at the desk had them quieted down within 5 minutes! Great restuarant (LaBontes) right next door.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel in February for a business trip and stayed one night. I came in April to for pleasure and checked out hotels again for my stay. I was considering staying at a cheaper hotel but decided to stick to what I know and I know I can count on a clean, comfortable stay at this hotel and Best Western in general. I really liked it that their pool was covered to keep it warmer for night swimming and that they had a hot tub, both which I used.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I am so glad to read that our hotel has turned out to be the hotel of your choice when you are in the area. I am pleased to read that our covered heated pool meet your needs when you were swimming later in the evening and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin county, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

It is amazing that there is a hotel with a heated outdoor pool and spa when there is snow on the ground. Nice swim towels were available. The grounds were nicely landscaped for an area that has cold temperatures. We could see this from our room. My biggest complaint was that there not many choices of protein for breakfast. The rooms were nicely painted but the comforter may be due for replacement. We slept well and there were ample pillows.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I am so happy to read that you enjoyed our heated pool when you were staying with us last. We planned to remodel our pool and surface area, but due to the drought, have postponed the fiber-glassing of the inside of the pool and the resurfacing of the pool area until late October, early November, so that our guests can enjoy it during the Spring and Summer Months. W e look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The office staff was very friendly and helpful! The rooms are basic but clean and the breakfast was better than average continental style. The highway noise is significant but for the money, it's a good deal. We will stay there again when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
21.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
1.8 mi away
Power's Mansion Inn
Power's Mansion Inn
#1 of 3 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Key

Property: Best Western Golden Key
Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603-3238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Key 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, mini fridge, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool (heated from May-October)and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques. Pets are welcome but must be registered with nominal pet fee. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing