We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Golden Key, Auburn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Golden Key
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was a very nice hotel. Even though I actually missed the time for the breakfast, they got things out of the refrigerators to provide us food. Please note this hotel ends breakfast at 0930 not 10. The rooms were nice. The staff worked hard to provide satisfaction. They responded to all my requests without a problem. I would definitely stay there again for work or fun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Golden Key
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This motel exceeded our expectations for the type of hotel it is, earning it 5 stars. It is a very good value. Every one of the staff we interacted with was kind and helpful. They were able to let us check in early and check out 45 min late, which made a huge difference for us traveling with a tiny baby. There was an initial mixup, and we were assigned to a room that was not fully cleaned. They were quick to switch us to a cleaned room and called to follow up soon after. Our new room was very clean and comfortable. The morning breakfast had yummy waffles and lots of coffee. The nice lady working in the breakfast room offered me trays and help to carry our food back to our room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete one of our surveys when you were at our hotel. I am so glad my staff took care of you and your baby so you could enjoy your stay and we look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I made a reservation in early May for 5 nights in mid June. When I checked in I was told that I had been assigned a pet room even though I had no pet. The clerk said that they had just received the reservation from Best Western and it did not specify whether I had a pet or not.

The rooms are dated with some stabs at upgrades. Save your money and stay in Rocklin.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mdjmfmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were assigned a 'pet friendly' room, even though we did not have a pet with us for the stay. At bed time, we noticed a 'dog' smell. We could not change rooms and were given a bottle of Fabreze to clear the air. Did not work too well. This is the memory of our hotel stay after we left.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete one of our surveys about your stay at our hotel. The weekend of the Western States Run is the most popular weekend of the year and the contestants always book early in the year so we are always at full capacity. That made it impossible to switch you to another room like we would have normally done to accommodate you. I hope the refund we gave you for your inconvenience will show we were concerned and want to retain you as a valued Best Western Guest and hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in Auburn, CA at the Best Western when we were looking for a house to buy. The hotel was very clean, clean pool, beautiful gardens, fast internet, nice little breakfast and a great location for a variety of meals. The people who work there took a real interest in our search and were happy for us when we found a home. We had a great introduction to Auburn and it's amenities. Our good feelings began here with friendly people who staff the Hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 250cliffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

I am so glad that our hotel could provide you and your family the " home away from home" until you found your new house. Welcome to Auburn. I am sure you will love it as much as I do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

From the time I checked in until the time I checked out this was a great experience. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard, but good. The grounds were clean and well kept and it was quiet even with the interstate a short distance away. This is a quaint property that has been very well maintained and updated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am so glad to see that my staff lived up to your expectations and we look forward to your returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I'll start with the downside. It is an older motel with exterior corridors, no elevators, thin walls and near highway traffic, so noisy. We arrived early and were told to wait while the clerk finished the days departure paperwork. 2 minutes later another person walked in and was immediately greeted by a second clerk who checked them in. The plus, it's clean comfortable and reasonably priced. Fast food, restaurants and grocery within walking distance. The staff, except for the initial glitch, was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catravlerChico_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We try to take care of our guests as quickly and professionally as possible and I apologize for any lack of this procedure during your check-in experience and hope you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
21.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
19.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
20.4 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Key

Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603-3238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £71 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Key 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, mini fridge, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool (heated from May-October)and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques. Pets are welcome but must be registered with nominal pet fee. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing