We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Holiday Inn”
Review of Holiday Inn Auburn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auburn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beltsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Decent Holiday Inn”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were one of 5 wedding groups staying here over the weekend. Rooms are nice-sized and decently decorated. Housekeeping left something to be desired--didn't empty water from ice bucket or remove dirty glasses. The patio is great. Our group of about 25 ordered in pizzas on Saturday and ate on the patio. We were kept company by a coed soccer team which wheeled in a grill and had their own party--worked out great. Had 1 dinner and 2 breakfasts at Max's, the in-house restaurant. Food was good, not trendy, and I thought reasonably priced. Breakfast was the same I've paid recently at places like Denny's and IHOP. The restaurant was way under-staffed on Friday morning, however, which led to long delays in service. The hotel has guest laundry facilities, but, be aware--it consists of one washer and one dryer, so don't arrive thinking you can do a couple loads of laundry at the same time. The elevator is a long way from the lobby, but if you have a 200-numbered room, you can park at a back entrance and come in on the second floor and avoid the elevator.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear RuthMc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your insights are very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. We were really disappointed to learn that you experienced inconveniences with our staff service at the restaurant. Please be informed that this unfortunate incident is definitely not the norm of our hotel. Rest assured that your comments will be addressed and passed on to the responsible Departments, since all our efforts are commanded to provide our clients with the best service you deserve.

Again, thank you for your review and sharing your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    66
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
35
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding and reunion….hotel was clean and with good amenities. Reservations were a little botched up, so if you have a family function in this area double check before arrival. They are very busy on weekends for weddings in the Sierres! Max's Restraurant is good with nice service and food. Rooms are clean with good amenities. Just double check reservations before arrival!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutchplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for a nephews wedding. We were one of seven (!) wedding parties there that night. The Inn was busy but they were very friendly and helpful. The facility itself is well-appointed and the rooms are a good size. There is a very nice restaurant, Max's, at the end of the hotel; it's a bit pricey, but the food is good. And there's an In-and-Out Burger a few feet away from the hotel entrance, so there is an alternative to the restaurant. The hotel is within easy walking distance from historic old Auburn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannygoat778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaVergne, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We traveled to attend a relative's wedding and stayed at the Holiday Inn Auburn, located about 40 miles north of Sacramento's airport and right-off Interstate 80 towards Reno, NV. We had confirmations on the block of rooms reserved for the wedding guests. However, we needed an extra room but the hotel was sold-out for those nights. I was encouraged by the staff to keep calling to check on cancellations. Each time that I called, they remained very nice and professional, in spite of me calling almost every day. At the end I was able to get my extra room and was very glad that my entire family could stay in the same place. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. On Friday nights during the summer, live music and wine-tasting bar are available pool-side. With the magnificent weather and the nice surroundings, it makes it for a very relaxing and enjoyable time while the little children play in the pool nearby.

Room Tip: If you are in a room overlooking the pool, you will be hearing the music. So, if you need to retire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glorialaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was my fifth time staying at this hotel. This is a good, clean, functional hotel if you need to be staying in the greater Auburn area. It is walking distance to the charming downtown shops and restaurants and has easy access off of Interstate 80, as the hotel is located at the intersection of Interstate 80 and Highway 49. Be sure to take the very first right, up the hill, on the north side of I-80 right after exiting the freeway. Otherwise you have to drive down to the next light and weave your way past the In-N-Out Burger traffic.

They have no breakfast but instead rely upon the attached restaurant, Max's, which is run by a separate company. I find Max's food and service average at best and slow and mediocre at worst. More specifically; it is not suited for the business traveler. If you need to grab a quick bite or have a breakfast meeting on a tight schedule; head over to one of the other restaurants in town (Awful Annie's or The Breakfast. Club). There is a small coffee bar in the lobby that could use larger cups that are not individually wrapped in cellophane (since you may only be having coffee on the run).

They have a convenient business center with computers and printers as well as a large, clean pool and separate jacuzzi with towels available poolside.

I am grateful for this hotel; it suits my purpose and we will be staying here again. But for us it's a place to sleep and not a destination. Perhaps it is being an experienced traveler and TripAdvisor user that I have not rated this hotel higher but a "Very Good" rating implies an even greater level of service and amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ajoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Ajoite,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nicely kept hotel in the middle of the city, close to farmer's markets and walking areas. Beautiful surroundings. Hotel had wine tasting and music out by the pool on the weekend and it is attached to a restaurant (can't recall the name) that delivers room service. What more could one want!
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a nice hotel. I like how close it was to old town Auburn. The hotel is hard to find it is behind the In and Out Burger. But once you find it, it is a nice hotel. The restaurant at the hotel is nice I liked there Ruben and French Onion soup. There is no free breakfast. That is way I like the Holiday Inn Express more. But this is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Just a tip to find the hotel. It is right off the exit just above the In and Out Burger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortsallyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
1.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Roseville
22.0 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn

Property: Holiday Inn Auburn
Address: 120 Grass Valley Hwy, Auburn, CA 95603-4500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the wonder and enchantment of California’s Gold Country at the award-winning Holiday Inn Auburn Hotel in Auburn, California. Situated along the northern belt of Mother Lode, amid lush pastures and gentle rolling foothills, this Auburn, CA hotel offers a beguiling blend of unsurpassed beauty and unrivaled service. Since its opening in 1995, the Holiday Inn in Auburn, California, has been the recipient of esteemed honors, including the 1996 Holiday Inn Worldwide Hotel of the Year award. In 2009, the hotel received the Holiday Inn Excellence Award, and, most recently, was recognized as a California Certified Green Hotel. Impeccable service, courteous and skilled staff, and well-appointed interiors have made the hotel the showpiece of the Gold Country. "Everything You Always Wanted to Eat!", Max's is one of the Bay Area's most popular restaurants – famous for delicious food, generous portions, and irresistible desserts. You can choose from Max's large selection of deli style sandwiches and wide array of salads, steaks, pasta and seafood. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Room service and "take out" also available. Our Auburn conference location is close enough to Sacramento for easy access, yet far enough away to escape the corporate congestion and unwind for your gold country area conference or executive meeting. The latest technology in high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel, and we offer a business center complete with computer work station, printer, and photocopier. Our onsite meeting professional will assist with your every conference need and can schedule golf, skiing or site-seeing trips for your group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing